Solar Radio Physics
   Institute in General
   Public Relations
   Research Groups
   Internal Pages
Search Telephone list Feedback Impressum Links
last change 2009 Jul 8, F. Breitling
Solar Radio Physics - Research Branch I

[Radio Physics Home]  [Solar Key Science Project]

Solar KSP - Workshop II

June 24-25, 2009



14:00-14:10 G. Mann Welcome
Session I Chair B. Thide
14:10-15:00 M. Wise LOFAR Project Update: Roll-out and System Status (PDF)
15:00-15:30 G. Mann Status of the Solar Key Science Project (PPT) (movie 1) (movie 2)
15:30-16:00 Coffee break
Session II Chair M. Wise
16:00-16:30 A. Kerdraon The Nancy radio heliograph and solar radio observations at low frequencies (PPT) (+ Apple movie)
16:30-17:00 B. Thide Utilising radio OAM to study space plasma vorticity - The LOIS concept and IBM software (PPT) (PDF)
17:00-17:30 C. Marque The solar radio spectrograph in Belgium (PPT) (PDF)
17:30-18:00 A. Konovalenko Future ground-based solar radio observations at low frequencies (PPT)
19:30- Common dinner see directions


Session III Chair N. Jakowski
9:00-9:30 C. Denker Optical context observations for LOFAR (PPT)
9:30-10:00 E. Kontar Solar energetic particles: radio and X-ray signatures (PDF)
10:00-10:30 R. Fallows Heliospheric Physics with LOFAR (on behalf of Andy Breen) (ODP) (PPT) (movie 1) (movie 2)
10:30-11:00 Coffee Break
Session IV Chair W. Baan
11:00-11:30 N. Jakowski The ionosphere weather Service SWACI and its capability for estimating propagation effects of transionospheric radio signals (PDF)
11:30-12:00 C. Vocks Solar observations with single LOFAR stations (PPT)
12:00-12:30 J. Anderson Data handling and transfer for German LOFAR stations (PDF)
12:30-13:00 F. Breitling The Solar Science Data Center (PPT)
13:00-14:00 Lunch break
14:00-15:00 Discussion M. Wise
15:00-15:30 Summary G. Mann
15:30 Farewell


photo of participants

    First name  Last name          Affiliation                          Country
 1  James       Anderson           MPIfR Bonn                           Germany
 2  Henry       Aurass             AIP                                  Germany
 3  Horst       Balthasar          AIP                                  Germany
 4  Willem      Baan               ASTRON                               NL
 5  Frank       Breitling          AIP                                  Germany
 6  Philippa    Browning           Univ. of Manchester                  UK
 7  Bartosz     Dabrowski          Royal Obs. of Belgium                Belgium
 8  Carsten     Denker             AIP                                  Germany
 9  Harry       Enke               AIP                                  Germany
10  Richard     Fallows            Aberystwyth University               UK
11  Matthias    Hoeft              Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenb.  Germany
12  Norbert     Jakowski           German Aerospace Center (DLR)        Germany
13  Roger       Karlsson           Inst. f. Weltraumforschung (IWF)     Austria
14  Alain       Kerdraon           Obs. de Paris-Meudon                 France
15  Alexander   Konovalenko        Institute of Radio Astronomy         Ukraine
16  Eduard      Kontar             Univ. of Glasgow                     UK
17  Jasmina     Magdalenic Zhukov  Royal Obs. of Belgium                Belgium
18  Gottfried   Mann               AIP                                  Germany
19  Christophe  Marqué             Royal Obs. of Belgium                Belgium
20  Rossitsa    Miteva             AIP                                  Germany
21  Iliya       Nickelt            AIP                                  Germany
22  Hakan       Önel               AIP                                  Germany
23  Emil        Popow              AIP                                  Germany
24  Jürgen      Rendtel            AIP                                  Germany
25  Andre       Saar               AIP                                  Germany
26  Bo          Thide              Univ. Uppsala                        Sweden
27  Christian   Vocks              AIP                                  Germany
28  Alexander   Warmuth            AIP                                  Germany
29  Michael     Wise               ASTRON                               NL


Some photos from the common dinner at the Ratskeller in Babelsberg and another dinner at Ristorante Aida near Savignyplatz.


Seminar room in the Schwarzschild building of the AIP.
How to find the institute is described at .
Here is a map.

Solar KSP LOFAR Workshop II on a larger map.


If you need any assistance please contact Mrs Doris Lehmann.


Further information on the key science project "Solar Physics and Space Weather with LOFAR" is found at .


Gottfried Mann <gmann at>
Christian Vocks <cvocks at>
Frank Breitling <fbreitling at>
Doris Lehmann <dlehmann at>