Institute in General
   Events / Jobs
   Public Relations
   Research Groups
   Internal Pages
Search Telephone list Feedback Impressum Links
last change 2010 November 08

Johann Wempe Award - Call for nominations/applications

In honour of Prof. Dr. Johann Wempe (1906 - 1980), the last director of the former Astrophysical Observatory of Potsdam (AOP), the Astrophysical Institute of Potsdam (AIP) grants the Johann Wempe award to an outstanding scientist annually.


About Johann Wempe

The award is financed from funds left in the will of Johann Wempe. It consists of a stipend of EUR 2500 per month to facilitate a research visit of up to six months at the AIP. The recipient may either be a promising young scientist who has already made notable achievements, or a senior scientist in recognition of his or her life's work. It is expected that the recipient enriches the scientific life of the institute through a series of lectures on their area of expertise. The Johann Wempe Prize was first awarded in 2000.

Applications and nominations for the Wempe award should be sent to the Scientific Chairman of the AIP, Prof. Dr. Matthias Steinmetz, before December 31, 2010.

Johann Wempe
Previous Wempe award recipients

Awarded in 2010: Yehuda Hoffman
Awarded in 2009: Matthias Rempel
Awarded in 2008: Kenneth C. Freeman
Awarded in 2007: Ignasi Ribas
Awarded in 2006: Eva Grebel
Awarded in 2005: Alexander Kosovichev
Awarded in 2004: Isabelle Baraffe and Gilles Chabrier
Awarded in 2002: Russell Cannon
Awarded in 2001: Tom Abel

Postal address

Prof. Dr. Matthias Steinmetz
Astrophysikalisches Institut Potsdam
An der Sternwarte 16
D-14482 Potsdam