Astrophotonics

innoFSPEC

Dr. Kalaga Madhav

Group Head
Office: LH/0-02
Phone: +49 331 7499 390
kmadhavnothing@aip.de

For next generation ground- and space-based astronomy, the astrophotonics research group is developing "start-light processors", with both active and passive photonic components, with collaborators and partners from industries, foundries, astronomical observatories, and universities.

Ongoing Projects

E-MARCOT

marcot_2

MARCOT Pathfinder is a multiple array of combined telescopes that can be easily expanded and/or replicated at very low costs.

MARCOT Pathfinder is a new European "segmented telescope" concept with a large effective aperture built at a very low cost, and is being developed by CAHA and supported by innoFSPEC-Astrophotonics at AIP.

Contact : MARCOT

Consortium : CAHA, Instituto de Astrofisica de Andalucia, innoFSPEC

POCO

AstrophotonicsFCtable

Turn-key ultra-stable (< 1 m/s) astrocomb for NIR and VIS astronomy.

Potsdam frequency comb, POCO, (Spanish for "little bit") is a turn-key instrument designed and developed by innoFSPEC that uses specially designed micro-ring resonators to generate ultra-stable comb lines for calibration of astronomical spectrographs. POCO comes in a 19" rack format and is easily transportable. It is currently being modified to function in remote-operation mode for STELLA-SES.

POCO currently as a stability of < 1 m/s (radial velocity). With astrophotonic components, the elusive 10 cm/s stability is tantalizingly within reach.

Contact : Daniel Bodenmülle, Kalaga Madhav

Collaborators : Georg-August-Universität

PAWS

AstrophotonicPAWS

The NIR-AWG component with R=20,000 and FSR=48nm can replace bulky diffraction gratings used in traditional astronomical spectrographs.

Potsdam Arrayed Waveguide Spectrograph (PAWS) is first of its kind instrument that utilises a compact AWG component specially designed for photon-starved NIR astronomy. PAWS currently in the assembly and integration phase. Cooperation with established foundry has yielded a device with the state-of-the-art performance: high spectral resolution, high throughput, broad free spectral range, high polarization immunity and high temperature stability. Other key components such as OH-emission filter elements can be integrated on the same chip.The concept “astronomy-on-chip” may spark a paradigm shift in the astronomical instrumentation as the light-weight PLC-based devices can provide simultaneously superior functionalities and greater robustness. A packaged module further allows efficient thermal management and shielding against external disturbances.

PAWS can be calibrated using POCO.

PAWS is a first step towards space applications.

Contact : Kalaga Madhav, Alan Günther, Eloy Hernandes

OH-SUPER

A serious problem for ground-based NIR astronomy consists in the presence of a large number of strong hydroxyl (OH) emission lines originating in the earth’s atmosphere. This emission starts at around 610 nm and covers almost the whole NIR up to 2.62 µm, as a result of which in this wavelength range, spectroscopy from the ground is strongly compromised. The maximum intensity of the OH emission lies around 1500 nm. The intensity is several orders of magnitude larger than the extraterrestrial background of faint stars or galaxies and thus it contributes substantially to the stray light signals inside the spectrograph, making the measurement of the faint extraterrestrial signals very challenging. An additional issue are the rapid intensity fluctuations of the OH emission, which makes the subtraction of reference spectra very difficult or even impossible.

The superb sensitivity of the ELT (and other large ground-based telescopes) is severely hampered by strong atmospheric OH emission lines, rendering the huge capital investment for the next generation of large telescopes almost useless for low to medium resolution spectroscopy in the NIR. This problem is particularly acute for instruments like ELT-MOS/MOSAIC.

OH suppression spectrographs built with special masks and additional optical components create excess stray light within the optical system, thus counter-acting the intended filter effect. FBGs offer excellent properties to filter out the OH emission lines. However, using an array of simple FBGs will result in high losses. An extension to simple FBGs are aperiodic FBGs (AFBGs). A single AFBG can provide as many as 100 notches to filter out the NIR OH emission lines.

AFBG OH-emission filters can fabricated using three different methods :

  1. Complex Phase Masks (CPM) : At innoFSPEC-Astrophotonics, world's first CPMs for astronomy have been fabricated in collaboration with Friedrich Schiller University and Fraunhofer IOF, Jena.
  2. Line-by-line inscription using an Ultrafast femtosecond laser : A fully-automated ULI system that can fabricate complex structures in glass substrates or fibres has been custom developed for innoFSPEC-Astrophotonics.
  3. Advanced "running light" Modified Elliptical Talbot Interferometer (METI) : For flexibly of fabrication, the METI fabrication facility, a unique one-of-its-kind facility supported through the BMBF Strategic Investment, has been developed. METI incorporates custom built large-range translation stages, where all the 6-axes are stabilised using a closed-loop laser interferometer and computer-fibre link system, for ambient temperature, pressure, and vibration.

Collaborators : IAP, Friedrich Schiller University, Jena, Fraunhofer IOF, Jena

Partners : University of Sydney, Macquarie University

Contact : Aashia Rahman, Kalaga Madhav

PI : Martin Roth

Telescope Beam Combiners

Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 heralds a new era of astronomy using Astrophotonic components. At the heart of ESO GRAVITY instrument lies a 2D integrated optics device that combines light from 4 telescopes in K-band. The 3D discrete beam combiners (DBC), designed and developed at innoFSPEC Astrophotonics group, have no complexity, and have the simplest geometry of all other types of beam combiners. The DBC allows a straightforward scaling to larger arrays of telescopes by simply extending the number of waveguides in the array. 

With the new state-of-the-art fully automated ultrafast laser inscription facility of Astrophotonics group, complex 3D waveguide structures can be inscribed in glass.

First generation H-band 3D beam combiners, fabricated in collaboration with Politecnico di Milano, have been successfully tested on-sky in 2018, at the William Herschel Telescope in La Palma, Spain.

A 3D K-band beam combiner has been developed in collaboration with Herriot Watt University, University of Köln, and NASA Ames Research Center, is scheduled for on-sky test at the CHARA Array in November 2021.

Collaboration : Politecnico di Milano, LESIA, Observatoire de Paris, Université PSL, CNRS, Sorbonne Université, Université de Paris, GEPI, Observatoire de Paris, Université PSL, CNRS, Durham University, STFC Rutherford Appleton Lab, Physikalisches Institut Uni Köln

Contact : Abani Nayak, Aline Dinkelakar, Kalaga Madhav

Adaptive Optics for Astrophotonics

AstrophotonicsAO

Efficiently coupling star light into the single-mode photonic components is hindered by the presence of atmospheric turbulence. A LOAO (SC) system has been developed that uses the traditional approach of AO correction along with few-mode photonic lanterns (PLs).

Atmospheric turbulence is the main limiting factor for the achievement of high-resolution images with single aperture, ground based telescopes. Local, small-scale (from centimeters to meters) variations of the air density are corrupting of the spatial coherence of light arriving from the stars. As a consequence, a telescope can focus the light on a spot which is usually several times larger (up to ~100 times with extremely large telescopes) than the theoretical focusing capability of the telescope itself (diffraction limit). This effect limits the widespread use of compact astronomical instrumentation based on integrated optics components, which require light with high spatial coherence to couple efficiently into single-mode waveguides. Two possible approaches have been identified so far to improve the coupling efficiency of starlight into integrated optics components.
The most direct approach consists in actively correcting for the distortion of the spatial coherence of starlight. This is already possible thanks to adaptive optics, a technique using a deformable mirror to correct distortions in real time and focus the starlight town to the diffraction limit. This approach is however a very expensive and complex one, especially for very large telescopes. A photonic solution to this problem is use a photonic lantern to distribute the light collected by a multimode fiber placed at the focus of the telescope into several single-mode fibers outputs.

Contact : Kalaga Madhav, Momen Diab

Photonic Lanterns

AstrophotonicsPL2.jpg

A 19-fibre photonic lantern (PL) fed by SCAO-corrected input can be assembled into a standard optical fibre FC connector to form a diffraction-limited slit that can reduce the size of astronomical spectrographs. The single-mode outputs can also be used to introduce fibre Bragg grating (FBG) based OH-emission filters before feeding the star light into spectrographs.

Photonic lanterns (PL) are photonic (or fibre optic) devices that distribute the light collected by a large multimode waveguide (or optical fibre) into multiple near diffraction-limited waveguides (or single-mode fibres). In astrophotonics, such devices are crucial to couple star light efficiently from a telescope into photonic components.

Partners : University of Bath

Contact : John Davenport, Lu Gao, Kalaga Madhav

Last update: 22. September 2021

Astrophotonik

innoFSPEC

Dr. Kalaga Madhav

Gruppenleitung
Büro: LH/0-02
Telefon: +49 331 7499 390
kmadhavnothing@aip.de

Für die boden- und weltraumgestützte Astronomie der nächsten Generation entwickelt die Astrophotonik-Forschungsgruppe "Star-Light-Prozessoren" mit aktiven und passiven photonischen Komponenten in Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern aus der Industrie, Gießereien, astronomischen Observatorien und Universitäten.

Laufende Projekte

E-MARCOT

marcot_2

MARCOT Pathfinder ist eine Mehrfachanordnung kombinierter Teleskope, die leicht erweitert und/oder zu sehr geringen Kosten repliziert werden kann.

MARCOT Pathfinder ist ein neues europäisches "segmentiertes Teleskop"-Konzept mit einer großen effektiven Öffnung, das zu sehr geringen Kosten gebaut wird. Es wird von CAHA entwickelt und von innoFSPEC-Astrophotonics am AIP unterstützt.

Kontakt : MARCOT

Konsortialpartner : CAHA, Instituto de Astrofisica de Andalucia, innoFSPEC

POCO

AstrophotonicsFC

Schlüsselfertiger, ultrastabiler (< 1 m/s) Astrokamm für die NIR- und VIS-Astronomie.

Der Potsdamer Frequenzkamm POCO (spanisch für "little bit") ist ein von innoFSPEC entworfenes und entwickeltes schlüsselfertiges Instrument, das speziell entwickelte Mikroringresonatoren zur Erzeugung ultrastabiler Kammlinien für die Kalibrierung astronomischer Spektrographen verwendet. POCO wird in einem 19"-Rackformat geliefert und ist leicht zu transportieren. Es wird derzeit so modifiziert, dass es im Fernbedienungsmodus für STELLA-SES funktioniert.

POCO hat derzeit eine Stabilität von < 1 m/s (Radialgeschwindigkeit). Mit astrophotonischen Komponenten ist die schwer fassbare Stabilität von 10 cm/s in greifbare Nähe gerückt.

Kontakt : Daniel Bodenmüller, Kalaga Madhav, Haydar Altuğ Yildirim

Kollaborateure : Georg-August-Universität

PAWS

AstrophotonicPAWS

Die NIR-AWG-Komponente mit R=20.000 und FSR=48nm kann sperrige Beugungsgitter ersetzen, die in herkömmlichen astronomischen Spektrographen verwendet werden.

Der Potsdam Arrayed Waveguide Spectrograph (PAWS) ist das erste Instrument seiner Art, das eine kompakte AWG-Komponente verwendet, die speziell für die photonenarme NIR-Astronomie entwickelt wurde. PAWS befindet sich derzeit in der Montage- und Integrationsphase. Die Zusammenarbeit mit einer etablierten Gießerei hat zu einem Gerät mit modernsten Leistungsmerkmalen geführt: hohe spektrale Auflösung, hoher Durchsatz, breiter freier Spektralbereich, hohe Polarisationsstabilität und hohe Temperaturstabilität. Das Konzept "Astronomy-on-Chip" könnte einen Paradigmenwechsel in der astronomischen Instrumentierung einleiten, da die leichten PLC-basierten Geräte gleichzeitig überlegene Funktionen und größere Robustheit bieten. Ein gehäustes Modul ermöglicht zudem ein effizientes Wärmemanagement und eine Abschirmung gegen externe Störungen.

PAWS kann mit POCO kalibriert werden.

PAWS ist ein erster Schritt in Richtung Weltraumanwendungen.

Kontakt : Kalaga Madhav, Alan Günther, Eloy Hernandes, Stella Vješnica

OH-SUPER

Ein ernsthaftes Problem für die bodengebundene NIR-Astronomie besteht im Vorhandensein einer großen Anzahl starker Hydroxyl (OH)-Emissionslinien, die ihren Ursprung in der Erdatmosphäre haben. Diese Emission beginnt bei etwa 610 nm und deckt fast das gesamte NIR bis zu 2,62 µm ab, wodurch die Spektroskopie vom Boden aus in diesem Wellenlängenbereich stark beeinträchtigt wird. Die maximale Intensität der OH-Emission liegt bei 1500 nm. Die Intensität ist um mehrere Größenordnungen größer als der extraterrestrische Hintergrund schwacher Sterne oder Galaxien und trägt daher erheblich zu den Streulichtsignalen im Spektrographen bei, was die Messung der schwachen extraterrestrischen Signale sehr schwierig macht. Ein weiteres Problem sind die schnellen Intensitätsschwankungen der OH-Emission, die die Subtraktion von Referenzspektren sehr schwierig oder sogar unmöglich machen.

Die hervorragende Empfindlichkeit des ELT (und anderer großer bodengebundener Teleskope) wird durch die starken atmosphärischen OH-Emissionslinien stark beeinträchtigt, so dass die enormen Investitionen für die nächste Generation von Großteleskopen für die Spektroskopie mit niedriger bis mittlerer Auflösung im NIR nahezu nutzlos sind. Dieses Problem ist besonders akut bei Instrumenten wie ELT-MOS/MOSAIC.

OH-Unterdrückungs-Spektrographen, die mit speziellen Masken und zusätzlichen optischen Komponenten gebaut werden, erzeugen überschüssiges Streulicht innerhalb des optischen Systems und wirken so der beabsichtigten Filterwirkung entgegen. FBGs bieten hervorragende Eigenschaften, um die OH-Emissionslinien herauszufiltern. Die Verwendung eines Arrays aus einfachen FBGs führt jedoch zu hohen Verlusten. Eine Erweiterung der einfachen FBGs sind aperiodische FBGs (AFBGs). Ein einzelnes AFBG kann bis zu 100 Kerben aufweisen, um die OH-Emissionslinien im NIR herauszufiltern.

AFBG OH-Emissionsfilter können mit drei verschiedenen Methoden hergestellt werden:

  1. Komplexe Phasenmasken (CPM): Bei innoFSPEC-Astrophotonics wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität und dem Fraunhofer IOF, Jena, die weltweit ersten CPMs für die Astronomie hergestellt.
  2. Zeilenweise Beschriftung mit einem ultraschnellen Femtosekundenlaser: Für innoFSPEC-Astrophotonics wurde ein vollautomatisches ULI-System entwickelt, mit dem komplexe Strukturen in Glassubstraten oder Fasern hergestellt werden können.
  3. Hochentwickeltes Modifiziertes Elliptisches Talbot-Interferometer (METI) mit "laufendem Licht": Für eine flexible Fertigung wurde die METI-Fertigungsanlage entwickelt, eine einzigartige Anlage, die durch die strategische Investition des BMBF unterstützt wird. METI verfügt über speziell angefertigte Großraumübersetzungen, bei denen alle 6 Achsen durch ein Laserinterferometer mit geschlossenem Regelkreis und ein Computer-Faserverbindungssystem für Umgebungstemperatur, Druck und Vibration stabilisiert werden.

Kollaborateure : IAP, Friedrich Schiller University, Jena, Fraunhofer IOF, Jena

Partner : University of Sydney, Macquarie University

Kontakt : Aashia Rahman, Kalaga Madhav

PI : Martin Roth

Telescope Beam Combiners

Der Nobelpreis für Physik 2020 läutet eine neue Ära der Astronomie mit astrophotonischen Komponenten ein. Das Herzstück des ESO GRAVITY-Instruments ist eine integrierte 2D-Optik, die das Licht von vier Teleskopen im K-Band kombiniert. Die diskreten 3D-Strahlkombinierer (DBC), die von der Astrophotonik-Gruppe von innoFSPEC entworfen und entwickelt wurden, weisen keine Komplexität auf und haben die einfachste Geometrie aller anderen Arten von Strahlkombinierern. Der DBC ermöglicht eine unkomplizierte Skalierung auf größere Teleskopanordnungen, indem einfach die Anzahl der Wellenleiter im Array erweitert wird. 

Mit der neuen hochmodernen vollautomatischen Ultrakurzpuls-Laserbeschriftungsanlage der Astrophotonik-Gruppe können komplexe 3D-Wellenleiterstrukturen in Glas eingeschrieben werden.Die erste Generation von 3D-Strahlenkombinatoren wurde 2018 am William Herschel Telescope in La Palma, Spanien, erfolgreich getestet.

Ein 3D-K-Band-Strahlenkombinierer wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der Herriot Watt University, der University of Köln und dem NASA Ames Research Center entwickelt und soll im November 2021 auf dem CHARA Array am Himmel getestet werden.

Kollaborateure: Politecnico di Milano, LESIA, Observatoire de Paris, Université PSL, CNRS, Sorbonne Université, Université de Paris, GEPI, Observatoire de Paris, Université PSL, CNRS, Durham University, STFC Rutherford Appleton Lab, Physikalisches Institut Uni Köln

Kontakt : Abani Nayak, Aline Dinkelakar, Kalaga Madhav

Adaptive Optics für Astrophotonik

AstrophotonicsAO

Die effiziente Einkopplung von Sternenlicht in die photonischen Einmodenkomponenten wird durch atmosphärische Turbulenzen behindert. Es wurde ein LOAO-System (SC) entwickelt, das den traditionellen Ansatz der AO-Korrektur zusammen mit photonischen Laternen (PLs) mit wenigen Moden verwendet.

Atmosphärische Turbulenzen sind der wichtigste limitierende Faktor für die Erzielung hochauflösender Bilder mit bodengebundenen Teleskopen mit einer Öffnung. Lokale, kleinräumige (von Zentimetern bis Metern) Schwankungen der Luftdichte beeinträchtigen die räumliche Kohärenz des von den Sternen eintreffenden Lichts. Infolgedessen kann ein Teleskop das Licht auf einen Punkt fokussieren, der in der Regel um ein Vielfaches (bei extrem großen Teleskopen bis zum ~100-fachen) größer ist als die theoretische Fokussierungsfähigkeit des Teleskops selbst (Beugungsgrenze). Dieser Effekt schränkt den weit verbreiteten Einsatz kompakter astronomischer Instrumente auf der Grundlage integrierter optischer Komponenten ein, die Licht mit hoher räumlicher Kohärenz benötigen, um effizient in Singlemode-Wellenleiter einzukoppeln. Bisher wurden zwei mögliche Ansätze identifiziert, um die Kopplungseffizienz von Sternenlicht in integrierte optische Komponenten zu verbessern.

Der direkteste Ansatz besteht darin, die Verzerrung der räumlichen Kohärenz des Sternenlichts aktiv zu korrigieren. Dies ist bereits dank der adaptiven Optik möglich, einer Technik, die einen verformbaren Spiegel verwendet, um Verzerrungen in Echtzeit zu korrigieren und das Sternenlicht auf die Beugungsgrenze zu fokussieren. Dieser Ansatz ist jedoch sehr teuer und komplex, insbesondere bei sehr großen Teleskopen. Eine photonische Lösung für dieses Problem ist die Verwendung einer photonischen Laterne, die das von einer Multimode-Faser im Brennpunkt des Teleskops gesammelte Licht auf mehrere Singlemode-Fasern verteilt.

Kontakt : Kalaga Madhav, Momen Diab

Photonic Lanterns

AstrophotonicsPL2.jpg

Eine 19-faserige photonische Laterne (PL), die mit einem SCAO-korrigierten Eingang gespeist wird, kann in einen Standard-Glasfaser-FC-Anschluss eingebaut werden, um einen beugungsbegrenzten Spalt zu bilden, der die Größe astronomischer Spektrographen verringern kann. Die Singlemode-Ausgänge können auch zur Einführung von OH-Emissionsfiltern auf der Basis von Faser-Bragg-Gittern (FBG) verwendet werden, bevor das Sternenlicht in Spektrographen eingespeist wird.

Photonische Laternen (PL) sind photonische (oder faseroptische) Vorrichtungen, die das von einem großen Multimode-Wellenleiter (oder einer optischen Faser) gesammelte Licht auf mehrere nahezu beugungsbegrenzte Wellenleiter (oder Einmodenfasern) verteilen. In der Astrophotonik sind solche Vorrichtungen von entscheidender Bedeutung, um das Sternenlicht von einem Teleskop effizient in photonische Komponenten einzukoppeln.

Partner : University of Bath

Kontakt : John Davenport, Lu Gao, Kalaga Madhav

Letzte Aktualisierung: 20. Oktober 2021