Gaia

The Galactic Census
Gaia Logo Gaia Logo
gaiabg.jpg gaiabg.jpg
Credit: ESA/ATG medialab; background image: ESO/S. Brunier

Gaia at the AIP

The ESA Satellite Gaia creates the most accurate map of the Milky Way. On December 3rd 2020, Gaia published 1.8 billion object positions, the largest astronomical catalogue so far. By precisely measuring positions and motions of the objects, Gaia helps answering questions about the origin and evolution of our home galaxy.

The AIP contributes to the effort of the Gaia Data Processing and Analysis Consortium (DPAC) with three different topics:

1.) Software Pipeline for Dense Regions in the Sky

Since 2014 Gaia observed nine selected very dense regions in the sky, so called crowded fields (CF), using the Service Interface Function (SIF) of the Gaia Sky Mapper (SM). In 2019 DPAC set up a new working group within Calibration Unit 3 "Core Processing" with the purpose of creating a new software pipeline to reduce these images. The aim is to extract astrometry and photometry for additional sources in these regions, in order to increase the completeness of the mentioned regions. The AIP is heavily involved in this effort, providing both the main software development and the management of the small DPAC group.

2.) Background Correction for Gaia's Spectra

More than any other Gaia instrument, the Radial Velocity Spectrometer (RVS) suffers from the higher than expected straylight that Gaia suffers. Since 2007, the RVS background correction is written and maintained at AIP, first calculating the correction of contaminating light from point sources, that can be fully modelled and subtracted from target spectra. After commissioning, the focus of our DPAC contribution shifted to the creation of straylight maps, that are used to estimate the background light from diffuse sources.

3.) Mirror of the Gaia Archive

The AIP is an official Gaia Partner Data Center and provides full data access to all official Gaia data releases of DPAC, that can be found on Gaia@AIP. Additionally, AIP provides a web interface to explore and visualize the data and a user space to store search results that can also be shared among user groups. It supports research groups of AIP with crossmatches of not yet published catalogs, and also of published catalogs from RAVE. The data publication includes the StarHorse catalog as part of the contributions to the Gaia data, and service tables, e.g. a Gaia source table with coordinates in the J2000 reference epoch.

Funding: DLR, 50QG1904

Last update: 16. June 2021

Gaia

Die Vermessung der Milchstraße
Gaia Logo Gaia Logo
gaiabg.jpg gaiabg.jpg
Bild: ESA/ATG medialab; Hintergrundbild: ESO/S. Brunier

Gaia am AIP

Der Weltraumsatellit Gaia erstellt die genaueste Karte der Milchstraße. Durch präzise Messungen der Positionen und Bewegungen der Objekte wird Gaia dazu beitragen, Fragen zum Ursprung und der Entwicklung unserer Galaxie zu beantworten.

Die Beteiligung des AIP am Gaia Daten Auswertungs- und Analysekonsortium (DPAC) konzentriert sich auf drei Bereiche:

1.) Software Pipeline für Dichte Himmelsregionen

Seit 2014 beobachtet Gaia neun ausgesuchte, sehr dichte Himmelsregionen mit Hilfe der sogenannten zweidimensionalen Service Interface Function (SIF) Bilder. 2019 richtete das DPAC eine neue Arbeitsgruppe in der Cooridnation Unit 3 "Core Processing" ein, um eine neue Software Pipeline für die Auswertung dieser Bilder zu erstellen. Das Ziel ist es die Astrometrie und Photometrie neuer Objekte in diesen Regionen extrahieren, um die Vollständigkeit dieser dichten Himmelsregionen zu erhöhen. Das AIP ist hier stark involviert, da sowohl die Hauptprogrammierungsaufgaben als auch das Management der kleinen DPAC Arbeitsgruppe am AIP angesiedelt ist.

2.) Hintergrundkorrektur der Gaia Spektren

Mehr als jedes andere Gaia Instrument leidet das Gaia Radial Velocity Spectrometer (RVS) von dem höher als erwartet ausfallenden Streulicht, das beim Commissioning 2014 entdeckt wurde. Bereits seit 2007 schreibt und erhält das AIP die DPAC Software zur Korrektur des Hintergrundes für die RVS Spektren. Anfangs wurde eine Software erstellt, die die Lichtkontaminierung der Spektren durch Punktlichtquellen modellieren kann, so dass das Zielspektrum bereinigt werden kann. Seit 2014 hat sich der Fokus dieses AIP Beitrages mehr auf die Streulichtkorrektur verschoben. Hierfür werden zweidimensionale Karten berechnet, aus denen das diffuse Hintergrundlicht jedes Objektes abgeschätzt werden kann.

3.) Spiegel des Gaia Daten Archivs

Das AIP veröffentlicht einen kompletten Spiegels des Gaia Daten Archivs. Das AIP ist ein offizielles Gaia Partner Daten Center und stellt alle offiziell veröffentlichen Datenreleases des Gaia DPAC zur Verfügung, die sich auf Gaia@AIP befinden. Die Daten werden über ein Web Interface angeboten, mit dem die Daten übersichtlich dargestellt und erforscht werden können. Ein Nutzer Konto ermöglicht das Abspeichern von Suchergebnissen, die auch mit anderen Wissenschaftlern geteilt werden können. Zudem bietet das AIP Crossmatch Kataloge wie StarHorse, RAVE, wie auch eine Tabelle mit Gaia EDR3 Koordinaten in J2000 Referenzepoche.

Förderung: DLR, 50QG1904

Letzte Aktualisierung: 16. Juni 2021