55 items matching your search terms.
Filter the results.
Item type












New items since



Sort by relevance · date (newest first) · alphabetically
Image All_Sky_eROSITA_en
by Sarah Hönig published Jun 19, 2020 last modified Jun 19, 2020 10:02 AM
Located in News / Scientific Highlights
The X-ray sky in its full glory
by Sarah Hönig published Jun 19, 2020 last modified Oct 12, 2020 11:25 AM — filed under: , ,
19 June 2020. The eROSITA space telescope has provided a new, sharp 360° view of the hot and energetic processes across the Universe. The new map contains more than one million objects, roughly doubling the number of known X-ray sources discovered over the 60-year history of X-ray astronomy. Scientists at the Leibniz Institute of Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) have contributed with the discovery of a circular structure caused by a black hole outburst 10,000 years ago.
Located in News / Scientific Highlights
Four newborn exoplanets get cooked by their sun
by Sarah Hönig published Jun 11, 2020 — filed under: , ,
11 June 2020. Scientists from the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) examined the fate of the young star V1298 Tau and its four orbiting exoplanets. The results show that these recently born planets are roasted by the intense X-ray radiation of their young sun, which leads to the vaporisation of the gaseous envelope of these planets. The innermost planets could be evaporated down to their rocky cores, so that there is no atmosphere left.
Located in News / Scientific Highlights
AIP Schwarzschild Fellow Marcel Pawlowski receives Klaus Tschira Boost Fund
by Sarah Hönig published May 11, 2020 last modified May 12, 2020 10:39 AM — filed under: , ,
11 May 2020. Dr. Marcel Pawlowski, Schwarzschild Fellow at the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP), receives funding from the Klaus Tschira Foundation and the German Scholars Organisation for his research on the distribution of satellite galaxies around the Milky Way and the nature of dark matter.
Located in News / Institute News
Science donates equipment to health care facilities
by Sarah Hönig published Apr 01, 2020 last modified Apr 01, 2020 01:49 PM — filed under: , ,
1 April 2020. The Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) provides protective equipment to fight the corona epidemic. The Minister of Science and Culture Manja Schüle hands over the utensils, which were collected at Brandenburg universities and non-university research institutions, to the mayor of Potsdam, Mike Schubert.
Located in News / Institute News
20 February | Starry Night in Babelsberg
by Sarah Hönig published Feb 17, 2020 last modified Feb 21, 2020 09:09 AM — filed under: ,
The Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) invites to the next Starry Night in Babelsberg on Thursday, 20 February 2020, starting at 7:15 pm with a public lecture of Dr. Axel Schwope with the title "eROSITA and the new image of the x-ray sky". Please note that the lecture will be given in German.
Located in News / Institute News
Image STIX
by Sarah Hönig published Feb 06, 2020 last modified Feb 06, 2020 02:05 PM
Located in News / Scientific Highlights
Towards the Sun
by Sarah Hönig published Feb 06, 2020 last modified Feb 11, 2020 09:27 AM — filed under: , ,
– Update 11 February 2020 – In the early morning hours of 10 February, the Solar Orbiter space probe started its journey into space. The mission of the European Space Agency (ESA) will explore the Sun at close range. On board is the X-ray telescope STIX, which was developed and built with involvement from the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP).
Located in News / Scientific Highlights
"Working with your head and your hands" – Apprenticeship at the AIP
by Sarah Hönig published Feb 03, 2020 last modified Nov 12, 2020 01:27 PM — filed under: , ,
3 February 2020. In addition to excellent astrophysical research, the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) excels in the development of modern research infrastructure. This is possible in part thanks to the institute's own precision engineering workshop in the technical section. For many years, precision machinists have been trained there according to the principles of trade. The graduates Cornelius Lübke and Leander Leibnitz successfully completed their apprenticeship in January 2020 and tell of their experiences in an interview.
Located in News / Institute News
X-ray eye in space celebrates 20 years
by Sarah Hönig published Jan 20, 2020 last modified Jan 20, 2020 09:28 AM — filed under: , ,
20 January 2020. At the beginning of the millennium, the European Space Agency's XMM-Newton space telescope started observing the X-ray sky. On the occasion of its 20th anniversary, scientists, including those at the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP), are now publishing new catalogues of all X-ray sources discovered with XMM-Newton.
Located in News / Scientific Highlights

59 Artikel gefunden.
Trefferliste einschränken
Artikeltyp












Neue Artikel seit



Trefferliste sortieren Relevanz · Datum (neuste zuerst) · alphabetisch
Image All_Sky_eROSITA
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 19.06.2020 zuletzt verändert: 19.06.2020 10:02
Located in Aktuelles / Wissenschaftliche Highlights
Der Röntgenhimmel in voller Pracht
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 19.06.2020 zuletzt verändert: 12.10.2020 11:25 — filed under: , ,
19. Juni 2020. Das eROSITA-Weltraumteleskop hat einen neuen, detailreichen 360°-Blick auf die heißen und energetischen Prozesse im Universum eröffnet. Die neue Karte enthält mehr als eine Million Objekte, was die Anzahl der in der 60-jährigen Geschichte der Röntgenastronomie bekannten Röntgenquellen nahezu verdoppelt. Wissenschaftlern am Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) gelang die Entdeckung einer besonderen kreisförmigen Struktur, deren Entstehung ein Ausbruch eines Schwarzen Lochs vor 10.000 Jahren verursachte.
Located in Aktuelles / Wissenschaftliche Highlights
Vier neugeborene Exoplaneten von eigener Sonne gegrillt
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 11.06.2020 zuletzt verändert: 11.06.2020 09:59 — filed under: , ,
11. Juni 2020. Ein Team des Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) hat das Schicksal des jungen Sterns V1298 Tau und seiner vier Exoplaneten untersucht. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass diese kürzlich geborenen Planeten durch die intensive Röntgenstrahlung ihrer jungen Sonne geröstet werden, was zur Verdampfung ihrer Gashüllen führt. Die Gasatmosphären der innersten Planeten könnten vollständig verglühen, so dass nur noch die Gesteinskerne der Planeten übrigbleiben.
Located in Aktuelles / Wissenschaftliche Highlights
AIP Schwarzschild Fellow Marcel Pawlowski mit Klaus Tschira Boost Fund gefördert
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 11.05.2020 zuletzt verändert: 12.05.2020 10:38 — filed under: , ,
11. Mai 2020. Dr. Marcel Pawlowski, Schwarzschild-Fellow am Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP), erhält eine Förderung der Klaus Tschira Stiftung und des Vereins German Scholars Organisation für seine Forschung zur Verteilung der Satellitengalaxien um die Milchstraße und die Natur der Dunklen Materie.
Located in Aktuelles / Aus dem Institut
Wissenschaft spendet für Gesundheitseinrichtungen
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 01.04.2020 zuletzt verändert: 01.04.2020 13:48 — filed under: , ,
1. April 2020. Das Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) stellt Schutzausrüstung für die Bekämpfung der Corona-Epidemie bereit. Die Wissenschafts- und Kulturministerin Manja Schüle übergibt die Utensilien, die an Brandenburger Hochschulen und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen gesammelt wurden, an den Potsdamer Oberbürgermeister Mike Schubert.
Located in Aktuelles / Aus dem Institut
20. Februar | Babelsberger Sternennacht
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 17.02.2020 zuletzt verändert: 21.02.2020 09:09 — filed under: ,
Am Donnerstag, 20. Februar 2020, ab 19.15 Uhr lädt das Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) zur nächsten Babelsberger Sternennacht ein. Dr. Axel Schwope hält einen Vortrag zum Thema „eROSITA und das neue Bild des Röntgenhimmels".
Located in Aktuelles / Aus dem Institut
Image STIX
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 06.02.2020 zuletzt verändert: 06.02.2020 14:05
Located in Aktuelles / Wissenschaftliche Highlights
Der Sonne entgegen
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 06.02.2020 zuletzt verändert: 11.02.2020 09:26 — filed under: , ,
– Update 11. Februar 2020 – In den frühen Morgenstunden des 10. Februar war es soweit: Die Raumsonde Solar Orbiter startete ihre Reise ins All. Die Mission der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA) wird die Sonne aus nächster Nähe erforschen. Mit an Bord ist das Röntgenteleskop STIX, an dessen Entwicklung und Bau das Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) beteiligt war.
Located in Aktuelles / Wissenschaftliche Highlights
„Kopf- und Handarbeit“ – Ausbildung am AIP
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 03.02.2020 zuletzt verändert: 12.11.2020 13:26 — filed under: , ,
3. Februar 2020. Neben exzellenter astrophysikalischer Forschung zeichnet sich das Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) durch die Entwicklung moderner Forschungsinfrastrukturen aus. Möglich ist dies auch dank einer institutseigenen Feinmechanischen Werkstatt in der Abteilung Forschungstechnik. Diese bildet bereits seit vielen Jahren Feinwerkmechanikerinnen und Feinwerkmechaniker im Handwerk aus. Die Absolventen Cornelius Lübke und Leander Leibnitz schlossen im Januar 2020 erfolgreich ihre Ausbildung ab und berichten hier von ihren Erfahrungen.
Located in Aktuelles / Aus dem Institut
Zwanzig Jahre Röntgenauge im All
erstellt von Sarah Hönig published 20.01.2020 zuletzt verändert: 20.01.2020 09:28 — filed under: , ,
20. Januar 2020. Zu Beginn des Jahrtausends begann das Weltraumteleskop XMM-Newton der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation seine Beobachtungen. Anlässlich des 20. Jahrestages veröffentlichten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unter Beteiligung des Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) neue Kataloge aller mit XMM-Newton entdeckten Röntgenquellen.
Located in Aktuelles / Wissenschaftliche Highlights