

Call for nominations and applications for the

Johann Wempe Award 2021

In honour of Professor Johann Wempe (1906 – 1980), the last director of the former Astrophysical Observatory of Potsdam (AOP), the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) grants the Johann Wempe award to an outstanding scientist annually.

The award is financed from funds left in the will of Johann Wempe. It consists of a stipend of EUR 2500 per month to facilitate a research visit of up to six months at the AIP. The recipient may either be a promising young scientist who has already made notable achievements, or a senior scientist in recognition of his or her life's work. It is expected that the recipient enriches the scientific life of the institute through a series of lectures on their area of expertise. The Johann Wempe Prize was first awarded in 2000.

Previous Wempe award recipients are:

2019: Elisabeth Newton (Dartmouth College, USA)
2017: A. Quillen (University of Rochester, USA)
2015: O. Gressel (Niels Bohr International Academy Copenhagen, Dänemark)
2014: R. Brent Tully (Institute for Astronomy, Hawaii)
2012: Thomas R. Ayres (University of Colorado, Boulder, USA)
2010: Yehuda Hoffman (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
2009: Matthias Rempel (UCAR, Boulder, USA)
2008: Ken Freeman (Mount Stromlo Observatory, Australia)
2007: Ignasi Ribas (Universität Barcelona)
2006: Eva Grebel (Universität Basel)
2005: Alexander G. Kosovichev (Stanford University)
2004: Isabelle Baraffe and Gilles Chabrier (Ecole Normale Supérior de Lyon)
2002: Russell D. Cannon (Anglo-Australian Observatory, Sydney)
2001: Tom Abel (Penn State University)

Applications and nominations for the Wempe award should be sent to the Scientific Chairman of the AIP,

Professor Matthias Steinmetz Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) An der Sternwarte 16 D-14482 Potsdam Germany

Email: msteinmetz@aip.de www.aip.de Application and nomination materials should be submitted by December 31, 2020