Johann Wempe Award 2006 - Prof. Dr. Eva Grebel

Portait photo

Prof. Dr. Eva Grebel

This year's Johann Wempe Prize is awarded to Prof. Dr Eva K. Grebel from the Astronomical Institute of the University of Basel for her outstanding work in the field of dwarf galaxies. The prize comes with a two-month stay and lectures at the AIP.

In addition, the 100th birthday of Prof. Dr. Johann Wempe will be celebrated this year. On this occasion, Prof. Mattig will give an additional ceremonial lecture.

The awardee

Her main interest is the stars in the Local Group of galaxies, including the Milky Way and the Magellanic Clouds. Initially as an ESO student at La Silla (1992-94), later as a Hubble Fellow at the University of Washington in Seattle (1998-2000) and finally in 2004 as Director of the Astronomical Institute of the University of Basel, Eva Grebel has consistently pursued her scientific goals: Chemical evolution and structure of galaxies by studying stellar populations and dark matter in nearby galaxies (so-called near-field cosmology). She received her PhD from the University of Bonn in 1995, was a postdoctoral researcher in Germany (Würzburg) and the USA (Urbana-Campaign, Santa Cruz, Seattle) and led her own research group at the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy in Heidelberg for 3 years. She has received several professorships and a number of prizes (e.g. the Ludwig Biermann Prize of the Astronomical Society and the Henri Chretien International Research Award of the American Astronomical Society). With her numerous important publications and her diverse committee work in the astro-community, Eva Grebel is one of the most impressive and successful younger personalities in astronomy in Germany and the world.


Schematic of the observed intensity of star formation in dwarf galaxies at different times in the evolution of the universe. Time runs backwards to the right. The dark areas indicate strong star formation and show that there have been dwarf galaxies with a high star formation rate at all times. This contradicts model calculations that predicted a decrease in the star formation rate after reionisation. (Grebel & Gallagher, 2004)

Credit: Grebel & Gallagher, 2004

Programme of the award ceremony on 8.9.2006



Priza awarding


Keynote speeches

Prof. Simon White (MPI for Astrophysics)
"Galaxy formation in the concordance cosmology".

Prof. Wolfgang Mattig (Kiepenheuer Institute for Solar Physics)
"On the occasion of the 100th birthday of Prof. Dr. Johann Wempe".

Last update: 10. November 2021