New building Campus Babelsberg

View at building, visualisation

The planned new building, viewed from the library building.

Credit: Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten

In order to maintain and expand its research activities at the Babelsberg campus, the AIP is constructing a new multipurpose building. The new building will offer meeting and office rooms, contain an urgently needed conference room for up to 199 guests, provide an exhibition area, and house the necessary service and dining rooms for an advanced cafeteria service.

The AIP's landmarked site was originally part of Babelsberg Park, so historic preservation was central to the bidding process for the new building. The new multipurpose building is expected to be the last new building for this site. The location has been chosen in a way that ensures that the new building fits perfectly into the park-like landscape and preserves as many trees as possible. Its tiered construction will be well suited to the existing terrain. The result will be an energy-efficient building with geothermal energy and solar panels, and its construction and appearance with a wooden façade will blend harmoniously with the mixture of historical and modern buildings on the institute's grounds.

<Staff at AIP were able to contribute their ideas on spatial and functional needs in a survey, and a user committee is accompanying the planning and now the construction phase. Construction began on February 8, 2021 with the first site preparations, construction of the shell started in August 2021. The building is scheduled for completion by mid-2024.

Overview

  • Construction of a multi-purpose building at the Campus Babelsberg
  • Costs: 23 million Euros, half financed by federal and half by state governments
  • Usable floor space: 2600 m2
  • Completion: 2024 (planned)

The Berlin office Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH are realizing the new building project. More information on the can be found on the office's website:
https://mueller-reimann.de/projekte/leibniz-institut-fuer-astrophysik.

Current images of the construction site in Babelsberg are available on this page: Construction site images.

Map with the buildings of the Campus Babelsberg

Location map with the new building

Credit: Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten
View at building from air, visualisation

Aerial view on the new building

Credit: Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten
Last update: 28. October 2021

Neubau Campus Babelsberg

Gebäudeansicht, Visualisierung

Der geplante Neubau, aus der Richtung des Bibliotheksgebäudes betrachtet.

Bild: Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten

Um die Forschungsarbeiten auf dem Campus Babelsberg aufrechtzuerhalten und zu erweitern, errichtet das AIP ein neues Mehrzweckgebäude. Es soll der Unterbringung wissenschaftlich genutzter Besprechungs- und Büroräume dienen, einen dringend benötigten Konferenzsaal für bis zu 199 Gäste enthalten, eine Ausstellungsfläche bieten und die notwendigen Betriebs- und Speiseräume für einen gehobenen Mensabetrieb beherbergen.

Das denkmalgeschützte Gelände des AIP gehörte ursprünglich zum Park Babelsberg, so dass der Denkmalschutz bei der Ausschreibung des Neubauvorhabens zentral war. Das neue Mehrzweckgebäude wird voraussichtlich der letzte Neubau für diesen Standort sein. Die Lage des Gebäudes wurde so gewählt, dass es sich optimal in die parkähnliche Landschaft integriert und möglichst viele Bäume erhalten bleiben. Durch seine gestaffelte Bauweise passt es sich gut an die Geländeform an. Es wird ein energieeffizientes Gebäude mit Geothermie und Solarpanelen entstehen, das sich durch seine Bauweise und sein Erscheinungsbild mit einer Fassade aus Holz harmonisch in das gemischt historische und moderne Ensemble auf dem Institutsgelände einfügt.

Die AIP-Angestellten konnten in einer Befragung ihre Ideen zum räumlichen und funktionalen Bedarf einbringen, ein Nutzerkomitee begleitet die Planung und die Baumaßnahme. Der Bau konnte am 8. Februar 2021 mit den bauvorbereitenden Maßnahmen beginnen, im August 2021 starteten die Rohbauarbeiten. Die Fertigstellung des Gebäudes ist für Mitte 2024 vorgesehen.

Im Überblick

  • Neubau eines Mehrzweckgebäudes auf dem Campus Babelsberg
  • Kosten: 23 Millionen Euro, hälftig finanziert durch Bund und Länder
  • Nutzfläche: 2600 m2
  • Fertigstellung: 2024 (geplant)

Das Berliner Büro Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH setzen das Neubauvorhaben um. Auf der Webseite des Büros sind weitere Informationen zum Projekt zu finden:
https://mueller-reimann.de/projekte/leibniz-institut-fuer-astrophysik.

Aktuelle Bilder der Baustelle in Babelsberg gibt es hier: Bilder der Baustelle.

Plan mit Gebäuden des Campus Babelsberg

Lageplan mit Neubau

Bild: Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten
Gebäudeansicht aus der Luft, Visualisierung

Blick auf das geplante Gebäude aus der Luftperspektive

Bild: Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten
Letzte Aktualisierung: 22. Oktober 2021