Locations

The research activities of the AIP are geographically spread over different locations in and around Potsdam, in the US and on Tenerife, while all personnel are located in Potsdam. The Potsdam-Babelsberg Research Campus constitutes the institute's main location, which accommodates about 200 employees.

You can visit our locations virtually: https://vr.aip.de/aipvr.html

View from the roof on one of the side domes of the Humboldthaus. A meridian house is visible in the background, as is another little telescope dome on the ground.

Domes on the Babelsberg research campus.

Credit: AIP

Research campus Potsdam-Babelsberg

The campus area, which Kaiser Wilhelm II once gifted to astronomers for the purpose of constructing an observatory, is located on the Babelsberg hill and directly connects to the Babelsberg Park. The whole historical ensemble of the Babelsberg Observatory forms part of the UNESCO world heritage site. In 1913, today’s Humboldthaus became successor to the Berlin Observatory, which had moved away from the ever growing metropolis to its current location under the then undisturbed Babelsberg night sky. Its origi­nally preserved lenticular telescope provides an authentic impression of the working conditions in astronomy at the beginning of the 20th century. The building now serves as a workplace for scientists from the Cosmic Magnetic Fields section.

Next to the Humboldthaus are the meridian houses. There, the passages of stars were once measured for an exact determination of time and position. Today, they host AIP’s media and communication centre, where robotic telescopes on Tenerife are remotely controlled and data streams converge. The former director’s villa and porter’s lodge now accommodate the administrative staff. Today’s library building, built in 1922, is also part of the historical area of the research campus.

The modern buildings Schwarzschildhaus and Leibnizhaus host the Extragalactic Astrophysics research area, the executive board, the technical section, project management, IT services, and the innoFSPEC team. High­-performance computers, workshops, and two integration halls are also situated here.

Hence, the Babelsberg campus is more than a place where 20th century science history was made: it is also where people from all over the world use cutting-­edge research infrastructure to explore the greatest possible dimensions as well as the origin, makeup, and fate of the universe as a whole.

View of the back of the Einstein Tower. In the background, the dome of the Great Refractor is visible. Between both buildings stand trees.

Einstein Tower and Great Refractor on the Telegrafenberg in Potsdam.

Credit: dronearchive.org

The Potsdam-Telegrafenberg Historical Site

On the Telegrafenberg, a 96-metre-high elevation in Potsdam, the “Science Park Albert Einstein“ hosts a conglomerate of major scientific institutions. The original site was designed as a science park in the style of an English landscape garden. Today, in addition to the AIP with its solar observatory Einstein Tower and the Great Refractor, the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam - GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) and a branch of the Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI, a Helmholtz centre for polar and marine research) are located on the site. The first research institute built at the science park was the Astrophysical Observatory Potsdam (AOP), along with the Berlin observatory one of the predecessor institutions of the AIP. It was the first astronomical institute worldwide that had the term “astrophysics” in its name and research programme.

The initial buildings on the Telegrafenberg were constructed between 1874 and 1899. The main building of the AOP (today called “Michelson House”) was the first to be completed in 1876, the Great Refractor was finished in 1899. Personages such as Karl Schwarzschild, director of the AOP since 1909, and Albert Abraham Michelson, who performed a precursor of the famous Michelson-Morley experiment in the basement of the Michelson House, worked and conducted research at the Telegrafenberg over the years. In 1924, the completion of the Einstein Tower started the era of modern solar research in Potsdam and Germany. After almost a century in use, the Einstein Tower remains the largest solar telescope in Germany and solar physics remains a research focus of the AIP.

The name Telegrafenberg originates from an optical telegraph station (a six-metre-high antenna), which was installed in 1832 by order of Friedrich Wilhelm III. It formed part of the Prussian semaphore system, encompassing 62 stations between Berlin and Koblenz. The line was shut down in 1852 due to the adoption of electrical telegraphy. Today, a replica marks the telegraph line.

Among the historical sites at the Telegrafenberg, especially the buildings of the AIP, namely the solar observatory Einstein Tower and the Great Refractor, attract the public due to their unique historical tradition and architecture.

Telescopes

LOFAR

AIP contributes to the International LOFAR Telescope (ILT) with its own LOFAR (LOw Frequency ARray) station in Potsdam­ Bornim. LOFAR is a radio interferometer that observes in the frequency range 10 - 250 MHz. It was originally designed by ASTRON in the Netherlands and consists of 24 core stations near Exloo, 14 other remote stations across the Netherlands, and 13 international stations in countries across Europe, from Ireland to Poland, Sweden to France. The longest baseline in East-West direction is 1,885 km, in North­South direction it is 1,301 km. Another station is presently being constructed in Irbene, Latvia.

Large Binocular Telescope (LBT) in Arizona

The LBT is located at an altitude of 3,200 metres on Mount Graham in Arizona. With its two 8.4-metre mirrors, it is currently the largest optical telescope in the world. It has the light­-gathering capacity of a single 11.8­-metre telescope and, when combined interferometrically, provides a spatial resolution in the sky corresponding to a single 22.8­-metre giant. The telescope has been in routine operation since 2018, but the complex instrumentation is not yet complete.

AIP participated in the LBT by developing and building the “Acquisition Guiding and Wavefront Sensing” units, which analyse light entering the telescope and provide signals for controlling the telescope and optimising the shape of the two primary mirrors. PEPSI is a high­-resolution spectrograph and polarimeter built as a scientific instrument. It provides spectra of the highest quality and is available to the entire German and LBT partner community. A small solar telescope and a 450-metre-long fibre link with the 1.8­-metre Vatican telescope can also be used in conjunction with PEPSI. Corresponding to the expertise at AIP, the solar telescope and its daytime operation are fully automated.

STELLA and GREGOR at Tenerife

STELLA, short for STELLar Activity, consists of two fully robotic, 1.2-metre telescopes at Observatorio del Teide located in Tenerife, Spain. They uniquely combine a high-resolution spectrograph, SES, and a wide-field imager, WiFSIP. STELLA is a long-term project for observing and monitoring activity tracers on cool stars with two robotic telescopes. It was inaugurated in 2006 and has been in fully robotic operation ever since. It dwarfs commonly operated telescopes not only in running costs: Over the years, the STELLA team was successful in lowering the technical downtime of the telescopes to a mere 2%.

The Canary Islands of Tenerife and La Palma rank among the best sites for high­-resolution solar observations. The locations are characterised by many hours of sunshine and stable atmospheric conditions, which are a prerequisite for studying the minute details of the active and dynamic Sun. The 0.7­-metre Vacuum Tower Telescope and 1.5-metre GREGOR solar telescope at Observatorio del Teide form the core research infrastructure for ground-based solar physics in Germany. A consortium led by the Leibniz Institute for Solar Physics (KIS) in Freiburg with the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (MPS) in Göttingen and AIP as partners operates these telescopes and their dedicated suite of post-­focus instruments. Novel instrument concepts and data analysis techniques are developed in collaboration with the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC). These will pave the way for next­-generation telescopes such as the 4­-metre European Solar Telescope. Typically, imaging and spectropolarimetric data are gathered on 250 observing days during the observing season from April to December.

The LOFAR field, a meadow where flat radio antennas are spread out, during a sunny say.

LOFAR-Station in Potsdam-Bornim.

Credit: AIP
Teneriffa

Sunset at the Teide Observatory with STELLA (right) and GREGOR (left).

Credit: AIP/M. Weber
LBT

Top-down view of the two 8.4-metre LBT mirrors and the instrument platform between them.

Credit: LBTO
Last update: 18. February 2021

Standorte

Die Forschungsaktivitäten des Leibniz-Instituts für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) verteilen sich geografisch auf verschiedene Standorte in und um Potsdam, in den USA und auf Teneriffa, wobei kein Personal des AIP dauerhaft an den Außenstellen angesiedelt ist. Hauptstandort ist der Campus Babelsberg, der rund 200 Beschäftigten Platz bietet.

Unsere Standorte weltweit können Sie auch virtuell besuchen: https://vr.aip.de/aipvr.html

Sicht vom Dach auf eine Seitenkuppel des Humboldthauses. Im Hintergrund ist ein Meridianhaus und eine weitere kleine Teleskopkuppel zu sehen.

Kuppeln auf dem Forschungscampus Babelsberg.

Bild: AIP

Forschungscampus Potsdam-Babelsberg

Auf dem Potsdamer Babelsberg gelegen, schließt das Gelände, einst als Geschenk durch Kaiser Wilhelm II. den Astronomen zum Erbau einer Sternwarte übergeben, direkt an den Park Babelsberg an. Heute ist das gesamte historische Ensemble der Sternwarte Babelsberg Teil des UNESCO-Welterbes. Das heutige Humboldthaus war ab 1913 neuer Sitz der Berliner Sternwarte, die aus der immer größer werdenden Großstadt unter den damals noch ungestörten Babelsberger Nachthimmel zog. Das im Original erhaltene Linsenteleskop vermittelt einen authentischen Eindruck von den Arbeitsbedingungen der Astronomie zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts. Heute forschen im Humboldthaus Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Bereichs Kosmische Magnetfelder.

In direkter Nachbarschaft stehen die Meridianhäuser, die früher der Messung von Sternendurchgängen für eine exakte Zeit­- und Positionsbestimmung dienten. Aus dem heutigen Medien­- und Kommunikationszentrum steuert das AIP robotische Teleskope auf Teneriffa und Datenströme laufen dort zusammen. In der ehemaligen Direktorenvilla sowie im Pförtnerhaus arbeiten heute Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Verwaltung. Auch das heutige Bibliotheksgebäude, 1922 errichtet, gehört zum historischen Teil des Forschungscampus.

Im Schwarzschild-­ und im Leibnizhaus, den beiden modernsten Gebäuden, befinden sich Arbeitsplätze für die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Bereichs Extragalaktische Astrophysik, den Vorstand, die Forschungstechnik, das Projektmanagement, die IT, sowie das innoFSPEC-­Team. Zudem sind hier Hochleistungs­computer, Werkstätten und zwei Integrationshallen untergebracht.

Der Campus Babelsberg ist damit nicht nur ein Ort der Wissen­schaftsgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Menschen aus aller Welt erforschen heute von hier aus mittels modernster Forschungs­infrastruktur die größten Skalen sowie den Ursprung, die Bestand­teile und das Schicksal des Universums als Ganzes.

Blick auf die Rückseite des Einsteinturms, im Hintergrund die Kuppel des Großen Refraktors. Dazwischen Bäume und Wiese.

Einsteinturm und Großer Refraktor auf dem Telegrafenberg in Potsdam.

Bild: dronearchive.org

Wissenschaftshistorischer Standort Potsdam-Telegrafenberg

Auf dem Telegrafenberg, einer 96 Meter hohen Erhebung in Potsdam, befindet sich der „Wissenschaftspark Albert Einstein“. Einst als Wissenschaftspark im Stil eines englischen Landschaftsgartens angelegt, sind dort heute neben dem AIP, mit seinem Sonnenobservatorium Einsteinturm und dem Großen Refraktor, das Helmholtz-Zentrum Potsdam Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ), das Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK) sowie eine Zweigstelle des Alfred-Wegener-Instituts für Polar- und Meeresforschung (AWI) angesiedelt. Das Astrophysikalische Observatorium Potsdam (AOP), neben der Berliner Sternwarte eine der Vorgängereinrichtungen des AIP, war die erste Forschungseinrichtung auf dem Telegrafenberg. Gleichzeitig war das AOP das erste astronomische Institut der Welt, das den Begriff „Astrophysik“ im Institutsnamen und im Arbeitsprogramm führte.

Die initialen Bauten auf dem Telegrafenberg entstanden in den Jahren 1874 bis 1899. 1876 entstand als erstes Gebäude das Hauptgebäude des AOP (heute: „Michelson-Haus“), 1899 folgte der Große Refraktor. Bedeutende Persönlichkeiten wie Karl Schwarzschild, ab 1909 Direktor des AOP, und Albert Abraham Michelson, der im Keller des heutigen Michelson-Hauses eine erste Version des Michelson-Morley-Experimentes durchführte, arbeiteten und forschten im Laufe der Zeit auf dem Telegrafenberg. Mit der Inbetriebnahme des Einsteinturms 1924 begann in Potsdam und in Deutschland eine neue Ära moderner Sonnenforschung. Noch heute, nach bald 100-jähriger Nutzung, ist der Einsteinturm das größte Sonnenteleskop in Deutschland. Sonnenphysik gehört weiterhin zu den Forschungsschwerpunkten des AIP.

Der Name „Telegrafenberg“ geht auf eine 1832 dort errichtete optische Telegrafenstation zurück (ein sechs Meter hoher Mast). Diese war damals Teil der von Friedrich Wilhelm III. beauftragten, 62 Stationen umfassenden „Preußischen Staatstelegrammlinie“ zwischen Berlin und Koblenz. Mit der Einführung der elektrischen Telegrafie wurde diese Linie 1852 eingestellt. Ein Nachbau des Telegrafenmastes erinnert heute an die Station.

Von den wissenschaftshistorischen Stationen auf dem Telegrafenberg ziehen besonders die beiden Einrichtungen des AIP – das Sonnenobservatorium Einsteinturm und der Große Refraktor – auf Grund ihrer einmaligen historischen Tradition und Architektur die Öffentlichkeit an.

Teleskope

LOFAR

Das AIP beteiligt sich mit seiner eigenen LOFAR (LOw Frequency ARray)­-Station in Potsdam­-Bornim am Internationalen LOFAR-Teleskop (ILT). LOFAR ist ein Radiointerferometer für den Frequenz­bereich von 10 - 250 MHz. Es wurde ursprünglich von ASTRON in den Niederlanden entwickelt und besteht aus einem Kern von 24 Stationen bei Exloo, 14 weiteren Stationen in den Niederlanden und 13 internationalen Stationen, die über Europa verteilt sind – von Irland bis Polen und von Schweden bis Frankreich. Die längste Basislinie in Ost-West-Richtung beträgt 1.885 km, in Nord-Süd- Richtung 1.301 km. Derzeit befindet sich eine weitere Station bei Irbene, Lettland, im Bau.

Large Binocular Telescope (LBT) in Arizona

Auf dem 3.200 Meter hohen Mount Graham in Arizona steht das LBT. Mit seinen beiden 8,4­-Meter­-Spiegeln ist es das derzeit größte optische Teleskop der Welt. Es entspricht dem Lichtsammel­vermögen eines einzelnen 11,8­-Meter­-Teleskops und liefert, wenn interferometrisch gekoppelt, eine räumliche Auflösung am Himmel entsprechend eines einzelnen 22,8-Meter-Giganten. Seit 2018 ist das Teleskop nun im Routinebetrieb, die komplexe Instrumentierung aber noch nicht ganz vollständig.

Das AIP beteiligte sich am LBT u.a. durch die Entwicklung und den Bau der sogenannten „Acquisition Guiding and Wavefront Sensing“­-Einheiten, die das in das Teleskop einfallende Licht analysieren und Signale zur Steuerung des Teleskops und zur Optimierung der Form der beiden Hauptspiegel liefern. Als wissenschaftliches Instrument baute das AIP den hochauflösenden Spektrographen und Polarimeter PEPSI. PEPSI liefert Spektren allerhöchster Qualität und steht der gesamten deutschen sowie LBT-Partner-Gemeinschaft zur Verfügung. Auch ein kleines Sonnenteleskop sowie eine 450 Meter lange Faserkopplung mit dem 1,8­-Meter­-Vatikan­-Teleskop können mit PEPSI benutzt werden. Entsprechend der Expertise am AIP sind das Sonnenteleskop und sein Tagbetrieb natürlich vollständig automatisiert.

STELLA und GREGOR auf Teneriffa

STELLA, eine Abkürzung von STELLarer Aktivität, bilden zwei robotische 1,2-Meter-Teleskope am Observatorio del Teide auf Teneriffa, Spanien. Die Instrumente bestehen aus dem hochauflösenden Spektrographen SES und der Weitfeld-Kamera WiFSIP. STELLA ist ein langfristig angelegtes Projekt, das Merkmale von Sternaktivität auf kühlen Sternen über einen langen Zeitraum überwachen soll. Die Teleskope wurden 2006 eingeweiht und befinden sich seither in vollem robotischen Betrieb. Dadurch stellt STELLA nicht nur bei den Betriebskosten andere Observatorien in den Schatten: Der technisch bedingte Ausfall der Teleskope beträgt nur 2% der zur Verfügung stehenden Zeit.

Die Kanarischen Inseln Teneriffa und La Palma gehören zu den besten Standorten für hochauflösende Sonnenbeobachtungen. Sie zeichnen sich durch viele Sonnenstunden und stabile atmosphärische Bedingungen aus, die eine Voraussetzung für das Studium der aktiven und dynamischen Sonne bis ins kleinste Detail sind.. Das 0,7­-Meter­-Vakuumturmteleskop VATT und das 1,5­-Meter­-Sonnenteleskop GREGOR am Observatorio del Teide bilden die zentrale Forschungsinfrastruktur für die bodengebundene Sonnen­physik in Deutschland. Ein Konsortium unter der Leitung des Leibniz­-Instituts für Sonnenphysik (KIS) in Freiburg mit dem Max­-Planck­-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung (MPS) in Göttingen und dem AIP als Partnern betreibt diese Teleskope und ihre spezielle Kombination von Post­-Fokus­-Instrumenten. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) werden neuartige Instrumentenkonzepte und Datenanalysetechniken entwickelt, die den Weg für Teleskope der nächsten Generation, wie das Europäische Sonnenteleskop mit vier Metern Öffnung, ebnen werden. Typischer­weise werden Bild-­ und spektro­polarimetrische Daten an 250 Beobachtungstagen während der Beobachtungszeit von April bis Dezember gesammelt.

Das LOFAR-Feld, eine Wiese mit flachen Radioantennen, an einem sonnigen Tag.

LOFAR-Station in Potsdam-Bornim.

Bild: AIP
Teneriffa

Sonnenuntergang am Teide Observatorium mit STELLA (rechts) und GREGOR (links).

Bild: AIP/M. Weber
LBT

Draufsicht auf die beiden 8,4-Meter-Spiegel des LBT und die Instrumentenplattform dazwischen.

Bild: LBTO
Letzte Aktualisierung: 18. Februar 2021