Service for Schools

Currently guided tours on the AIP site in Babelsberg are only possible to a limited extent and in accordance with the current hygiene measures.

Visting the AIP and presentations

A group of schoolgirls, visible from behind, walk through the large wooden door of the Humboldthaus. One of its two white side domes is visible. The house itself is overgrown with ivy.
Credit: AIP

School classes of all ages can visit the AIP upon appointment. For further information please contact the Press and Public Outreach section about two months in advance, indicating the number of school students and their age: presse@aip.de, Tel.: 0331 7499 803.

Requests for weekend visits can unfortunately not be accepted.

These events for schools are free of charge.

Schule.jpg
Credit: AIP

For school classes visiting the AIP and for special events at schools, e.g. thematic weeks/days, special projects etc., our scientists offer presentations which introduce the students to the fascinating world of modern astronomy and astrophysics.

Presentations for school students are free of charge; for presentations at schools that require the presenters to travel a long distance, we kindly ask for reimbursement of travel expenses.

The talks are usually in German, but most of our presentations can also be held in English.

Possible presentation topics and contacts can be found here: Presentation topics.

Girls' Day / Zukunftstag Brandenburg

Students, who stand around a smaller reflecting telescope inside a wooden dome with an opened slit.
Credit: AIP

Every year in March/April, the AIP invites a limited number of students to the German Girls' Day and the Zukunftstag Brandenburg to gain insight into the life of a professional astrophysicist, engineer or technician at the AIP. Registrations are only possible via the central web pages linked above.

Internships for school students

School students can take part in an internship at the AIP. However, demand is very high and internship places are limited, so not every application is successful. More information is available here: School internship at the AIP.

EST school contest

Poster for the EST school contest.
Credit: EST

This year, the EST consortium for a European solar telescope has announced a competition in which teachers are invited to design a poster on the topic of solar research with a group of committed pupils. 1st and 2nd prize is a trip to Tenerife to visit the observatory there, 3rd prize is a telescope with H-Alpha filter for the school. All information and rules can be found here: https://est-east.eu/contest-rules.

You can register your group until 30 October, deadline is 20 December 2021.

Last update: 28. September 2021

Angebote für Schulen

Zur Zeit sind Führungen auf dem AIP-Gelände in Babelsberg nur in begrenztem Rahmen und unter Berücksichtigung der aktuellen Hygienemaßnahmen möglich.

Besuch des AIP und Vorträge

Eine Gruppe Schülerinnen, von hinten sichtbar, geht durch die große Holztür des Humboldthauses, dessen eine weiße Seitenkuppel sichtbar ist. Das Haus selbst ist mit Efeu bewachsen.
Bild: AIP

Schulklassen aller Altersgruppen können nach Absprache und zeitlicher Kapazität Besuche am AIP in Babelsberg vereinbaren. Bitte nehmen Sie etwa zwei Monate vor dem gewünschten Termin unter Angabe der Anzahl und Alter der Schülerinnen und Schüler Kontakt mit der Abteilung für Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit auf: presse@aip.de, Tel.: 0331 7499 803.

Anfragen für Wochenend-Besuche können leider nicht angenommen werden.

Die Veranstaltungen sind für Schulen kostenfrei.

Schule.jpg
Bild: AIP

Für Schulklassen, die das AIP besuchen, bieten unsere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Vorträge an, um den Schülerinnen und Schülern die faszinierende Welt der Astronomie und der astrophysikalischen Forschung näherzubringen. Zu besonderen Anlässen, z.B. Projektwochen oder -tagen, kommen unsere Vortragenden auch in umliegende Schulen.

Die Vorträge sind für Schulen kostenfrei; bei Vorträgen an Schulen, die eine weite Anreise der Vortragenden erfordern, wird um die Erstattung der Reisekosten gebeten.

Mögliche Vortragsthemen und Kontakte finden Sie hier: Vortragsthemen.

Girls' Day / Zukunftstag Brandenburg

Schülerinnen, die um ein kleineres Spiegelteleskop in einer hölzernen Kuppel mit geöffnetem Spalt stehen.
Bild: AIP

Jedes Jahr im März/April lädt das AIP zum deutschen Girls' Day bzw. dem Zukunftstag Brandenburg ein, einen Eindruck von der Arbeit als Astrophysiker/in, Ingenieur/in oder Techniker/in am AIP zu gewinnen. Anmeldungen zu diesem Tag sind exklusiv über die zentralen Webseiten der Veranstaltungen unter obenstehenden Links möglich.

Schülerpraktika

Schülerinnen und Schüler können am AIP ein Schülerpraktikum durchführen. Allerdings ist die Nachfrage sehr groß und die Praktikumsplätze begrenzt, so dass nicht jede Bewerbung erfolgreich ist. Mehr Informationen dazu gibt es hier: Schülerpraktikum am AIP.

EST-Wettbewerb

Poster für den EST-Wettbewerb.
Bild: EST

Das EST-Konsortium für ein europäisches Sonnenteleskop hat in diesem Jahr einen Wettbewerb ausgeschrieben, in dem Lehrende aufgefordert sind, mit einer Gruppe engagierter Schülerinnen und Schüler ein Poster zum Thema Sonnenforschung zu gestalten. 1. und 2. Preis ist eine Reise nach Teneriffa zum dortigen Observatorium, 3. Preis ist ein Teleskop mit H-Alpha-Filter für die Schule. Alle Informationen und Regeln finden Sie hier auf Deutsch (unten in der Liste auswählen): https://est-east.eu/contest-rules

Registrieren können Sie Ihre Gruppe bis 30. Oktober, Einsendeschluss ist der 20. Dezember 2021.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 28. September 2021