The history behind the AIP logo

The logo of the AIP symbolises an observer's view from the interior of an astrophysical telescope’s dome, looking through the dome’s opening into the starry night sky.

story_logo.jpg

The stellar constellation that led to the discovery of Neptune inspired the new AIP logo.

In search of a new planet

In the morning of 23 September 1846, Johann Gottfried Galle, an assistant at the Berlin Observatory, received a letter from Jean Joseph Urbain Le Verrier, an astronomer at École Polytechnique in Paris. Le Verrier was working on the "problem of Uranus", trying to understand why Uranus was not observed at the location on sky where it was predicted to be. The solution to the problem was expected to be an as-yet unseen planet, which was gravitationally perturbing the orbit of Uranus. The mathematical problem Le Verrier was attempting to solve was unprecedented, and yet he was confident he determined the location of the planet, and, therefore, asked Galle to search for it at a given region of the sky.

Galle proceeded to ask the director of the Berlin Observatory, Johann Franz Encke, for the permission to use their superb Fraunhofer telescope to honour Le Verrier’s request. Encke, who was celebrating his 55th birthday that day, permitted the use of the telescope. Galle’s and Encke’s conversation was overheard by Heinrich Louis d’Arrest, a student that was working at the observatory, who excitedly asked Galle for the permission to join the observations. Galle allowed d’Arrest to join, and even asked him to prepare what was necessary for the observations.

Galle and d’Arrest first followed the instructions of Le Verrier to look for the planet as a well-defined disk on the sky, but they were not successful. They also tried to use a standard sky chart of the region where the planet was predicted to be, but they quickly realised that the chart was missing a number of stars and was not useful for the search. d’Arrest then remembered that there should be a new chart of the same region, recently completed for the mapping project of the Berlin Academy of Sciences. Galle and d’Arrest went to an antechamber of the director’s office and found the chart, Hora XXI, completed by Carl Bremiker. This chart was waiting for another map from the series to be then distributed to all major observatories worldwide. As it happened, however, on that day only Berlin Observatory had it.

Neptun.png

Excerpt from the Hora XXI sky chart of the Berlin Science Academy completed by Carl Bremiker. The work on the chart started in 1826, but was completed only in 1844 and printed in 1845. It laid untouched until 23 September 1846 when Johann Gottfried Galle and Heinrich Louis d’Arrest used it to discover Neptune, based on the theoretical prediction by Jean Joseph Urbain Le Verrier. The predicted location (square) and the observed location (circle) were noted in pencil, allegedly by Galle, but at some time after the discovery.

Credit: AIP archive

Galle and d’Arrest returned to the Fraunhofer telescope and continued their search. Galle was at the telescope reading off the star positions, while d’Arrest was sitting at a nearby table and checking the coordinates against the Hora XXI chart. It didn’t take long before d’Arrest exclaimed: “That star is not on the map!”.

Galle and d’Arrest found the new planet in the vicinity of its predicted location. Le Verrier’s prediction astonished the world, but it also confirmed the usefulness of charting the skies, highlighting the synergy between the theoretical (mathematical) work and empirical (astronomical) observations. The stellar constellation in the AIP logo is the one that led to the discovery of Neptune. The stars are directly taken from Bremiker’s Hora XXI of the Berlin Science Academy sky charts, while the round spot among the stars points to the location at which Galle and d’Arrest observed Neptune.

Finding Neptune

If you look at the starry sky symbolised by the logo of the AIP, you can see Neptune depicted as a round spot among the stars.

Last update: 17. February 2021

Die Geschichte zum AIP-Logo

Das Logo des AIP zeigt den Blick aus dem Inneren einer Sternwarte auf den nächtlichen Sternenhimmel und eine historisch bedeutsame Sternenkonstellation.

story_logo.jpg

Die Sternkonstellation, die zur Entdeckung von Neptun führte, diente als Vorlage für das AIP-Logo.

Auf der Suche nach einem neuen Planeten

Am Morgen des 23. September 1846 erhielt Johann Gottfried Galle, ein Assistent an der Berliner Sternwarte, einen Brief von Jean Joseph Urbain Le Verrier, einem Astronomen an der École Polytechnique in Paris. Le Verrier arbeitete an dem "Uranus-Problem" und versuchte zu verstehen, warum Uranus nicht an der Stelle am Himmel beobachtet wurde, an der er vorhergesagt war. Die Lösung des Problems wurde in einem noch unsichtbaren Planeten vermutet, der die Umlaufbahn des Uranus gravitativ störte. Das mathematische Problem, das Le Verrier zu lösen versuchte, war beispiellos, und dennoch war er zuversichtlich, den Standort des Planeten zu bestimmen. Er bat daher Galle, in einer bestimmten Himmelsregion nach ihm zu suchen.

Galle fragte daraufhin den Direktor der Berliner Sternwarte, Johann Franz Encke, um Erlaubnis, das dort vorhandene hervorragende Fraunhofer-Teleskop zu benutzen, um Le Verriers Bitte nachzukommen. Encke, der an diesem Tag seinen 55. Geburtstag feierte, gestattete die Nutzung des Fernrohrs. Das Gespräch zwischen Galle und Encke bekam Heinrich Louis d'Arrest, ein Student, der an der Sternwarte arbeitete, mit. Er bat Galle aufgeregt um die Erlaubnis, an den Beobachtungen teilnehmen zu dürfen. Galle erlaubte d'Arrest, sich anzuschließen, und bat ihn sogar, die für die Beobachtungen notwendigen Vorbereitungen zu treffen.

Galle und d'Arrest folgten zunächst den Anweisungen von Le Verrier, den Planeten als gut definierte Scheibe am Himmel zu suchen, waren aber nicht erfolgreich. Sie versuchten auch, eine Standard-Himmelskarte der Region zu verwenden, in der der Planet vermutet wurde, aber sie merkten schnell, dass auf der Karte eine Reihe von Sternen fehlte und sie für die Suche nicht brauchbar war. d'Arrest erinnerte sich dann, dass es eine neue Karte derselben Region geben sollte, die kürzlich für das Kartierungsprojekt der Berliner Akademie der Wissenschaften fertiggestellt worden war. Galle und d'Arrest gingen in ein Vorzimmer des Direktorenbüros und fanden die Karte, Hora XXI, fertiggestellt von Carl Bremiker. Diese Karte wartete auf eine weitere Karte aus der Serie, die dann an alle großen Sternwarten weltweit verteilt werden sollte. Wie es der Zufall wollte, hatte sie an diesem Tag aber nur die Berliner Sternwarte.

Neptun.png

Ausschnitt der Hora XXI-Himmelskarte der Berliner Wissenschaftsakademie, fertiggestellt von Carl Bremiker. Die Arbeiten an der Karte begannen 1826, wurden aber erst 1844 abgeschlossen und 1845 gedruckt. Sie lag unangetastet bis zum 23. September 1846, als Johann Gottfried Galle und Heinrich Louis d'Arrest sie benutzten, um Neptun zu entdecken, basierend auf der theoretischen Vorhersage von Jean Joseph Urbain Le Verrier. Der vorhergesagte Ort (Quadrat) und der beobachtete Ort (Kreis) wurden mit Bleistift notiert, angeblich von Galle, aber zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nach der Entdeckung.

Bild: AIP Archiv

Galle und d'Arrest kehrten zum Fraunhofer-Teleskop zurück und setzten ihre Suche fort. Galle las am Teleskop die Sternpositionen ab, während d'Arrest an einem Tisch in der Nähe saß und die Koordinaten mit der Hora XXI-Karte abglich. Es dauerte nicht lange, bis d'Arrest ausrief: "Dieser Stern ist nicht auf der Karte!".

Galle und d'Arrest fanden den neuen Planeten in der Nähe seines vorhergesagten Standorts. Le Verriers Vorhersage versetzte die Welt in Erstaunen, bestätigte aber auch die Nützlichkeit der Himmelskartierung und unterstrich die Synergie zwischen der theoretischen (mathematischen) Arbeit und den empirischen (astronomischen) Beobachtungen. Die Sternkonstellation im AIP-Logo ist diejenige, die zur Entdeckung des Neptun führte. Die Sterne sind direkt aus Bremikers Hora XXI aus den Himmelskarten der Berliner Wissenschaftsakademie entnommen, während der runde Fleck zwischen den Sternen auf den Ort verweist, an dem Galle und d'Arrest Neptun beobachteten.

Neptun selbst entdecken

Wer den Sternenhimmel des AIP-Logos genauer betrachtet, wird dort unter vielen Sternen auch einen runden Kreis entdecken. Dies ist das Symbol für Neptun.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 17. Februar 2021