Fellowships for postdoctoral researchers

The AIP can host postdoctoral researchers on independent fellowships. Applications for such independent research funding are possible via several German and European programs, some of which are listed below. Other opportunities, such as those restricted to candidates from specific countries of origin, can be found in the DAAD Scholarship Database: https://www2.daad.de/deutschland/stipendium/datenbank/en/21148-scholarship-database/

We encourage interested candidates to identify and contact potential hosts at the AIP, to discuss these options and evaluate whether and how an application can be supported.

1) Humboldt Fellowship

The Humboldt Fellowship provides a stipend for two years, as well as some research funds. The fellowship offers some additional benefits, in particular a paid, 2 to 4-months long, full-time German language course before the fellowship. Applications are possible at any time throughout the year. 
https://www.humboldt-foundation.de/en/apply/sponsorship-programmes/humboldt-research-fellowship


2) Walther Benjamin Program

The Walther Benjamin programme by the DFG provides postdoctoral researchers with funding for their own research project for up to two years. During this time they will be employees of the hosting institute, and also get some additional research funds. It is aimed at young postdocs who have recently finished their PhD. There is no fixed application deadline, submissions are possible at any time (but only after the PhD thesis was submitted).
https://www.dfg.de/en/research_funding/programmes/individual/walter_benjamin/index.html


3) Marie Curie Fellowship

The European Marie Curie fellowship program provides up to two years of funding for postdoctoral researchers at a European research institute. It emphasizes training, acquiring new skills, and advancing the career of the funded researchers. There is a yearly call with an application deadline typically in September.
https://ec.europa.eu/research/mariecurieactions/actions/postdoctoral-fellowships

Last update: 9. November 2021

Stipendien für Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden

Das AIP kann Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden als unabhängige Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten aufnehmen. Bewerbungen für eine solche unabhängige Forschungsförderung sind über verschiedene deutsche und europäische Programme möglich, von denen einige unten aufgeführt sind. Weitere Möglichkeiten, z.B. für Interessierte aus bestimmten Herkunftsländern, finden Sie in der DAAD-Stipendiendatenbank: https://www2.daad.de/deutschland/stipendium/datenbank/en/21148-scholarship-database/

Wir ermutigen interessierte Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten, potentielle Betreuerinnen und Betreuer am AIP zu suchen und zu kontaktieren, um diese Optionen zu diskutieren und zu bewerten, ob und wie eine Bewerbung unterstützt werden kann.

1) Humboldt-Forschungsstipendium

Das Humboldt-Stipendium bietet ein Stipendium für zwei Jahre sowie eine Forschungsförderung. Das Stipendium bietet einige zusätzliche Leistungen, insbesondere einen bezahlten, 2- bis 4-monatigen Vollzeit-Deutschkurs im Vorfeld des Stipendiums. Bewerbungen sind das ganze Jahr über möglich.
https://www.humboldt-foundation.de/bewerben/foerderprogramme/humboldt-forschungsstipendium


2) Walther-Benjamin-Programm

Mit dem Walther-Benjamin-Programm der DFG werden Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden bis zu zwei Jahre lang für ein eigenes Forschungsprojekt gefördert. Während dieser Zeit sind sie Mitarbeiter/innen des Gastinstituts und erhalten zusätzliche Forschungsmittel. Das Programm richtet sich an junge PostDocs, die gerade ihre Promotion abgeschlossen haben. Es gibt keine feste Bewerbungsfrist, Bewerbungen sind jederzeit möglich (allerdings erst nach Abgabe der Dissertation).

https://www.dfg.de/foerderung/programme/einzelfoerderung/walter_benjamin/index.html


3) Marie-Curie-Stipendium

Das europäische Marie-Curie-Stipendienprogramm bietet eine bis zu zweijährige Finanzierung für Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden an einem europäischen Forschungsinstitut. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Ausbildung, dem Erwerb neuer Fähigkeiten und der Förderung der Karriere der geförderten Forschenden. Es gibt eine jährliche Aufforderung zur Einreichung von Bewerbungen, die in der Regel im September endet.
https://ec.europa.eu/research/mariecurieactions/actions/postdoctoral-fellowships

Letzte Aktualisierung: 9. November 2021