Project Management

Project Management-2.jpg

The Iron Triangle is commonly used to illustrate the problem inherent to project management. Out of the three variables illustrated, you can optimize one or two, but never three.

Joar Brynnel

Section Head
Office: SH/205
Phone: +49 331 7499 310
jbrynnelnothing@aip.de

Project Management (PM) was founded in 2018, making it a relatively young section within the AIP Research Infrastructure.

Our section offers institute-wide support for current and planned technical projects at the AIP. We draw from decades of experience in the field of telescopes and instruments, complemented by a broad experience in industry and project management.

We support all sections at the institute with our core competences in project management:

  • Project and Consortuim Management
  • Controlling
  • Systems Engineering
  • Product Assurance
  • Instrument Science

We are also happy to provide advice during the application phase.

Our general objectives are to provide a framework for the project, manage schedules and quality, administer and distribute funds, monitor costs, coordinate payment flows between partners, facilitate communication and distribution of information.

We are the link to customers and to all project partners. We plan and distribute the different tasks and workpackages, prepare progress reports, calculate risks, define and use various communication tools and platforms for a smooth and easy communication, manage consortium membership, and the standardization of software tools in the consortium.

Another interface is our systems engineering. The system engineering activities range from the identification of system and subsystem requirements followed by a detailed system analysis, via definition of the resulting requirements paired with a detailed system design, flow-down to the technical requirements, to the planning and execution of as-built systems verification.

An efficient utilization of the approved budget with its various expenditure categories must be correctly planned and the budget allocation and distribution must be defined in advance. Here we offer to support the project manager, also with estimating the costs of hardware investment and labor.

Requirements for invoice and cost management must be taken into account in the ongoing project, as well as management and archival of documents and other relevant project records. We offer tailored financial controlling, which allows a clear overview of the accrued and planned costs. This can be of great benefit to the project manager when coordinating with the AIP finance department and external funding agencies in order to have costs and future spending correctly assigned to the available cost centers.

The focus of the PM section is currently on the management of the AIP-led project 4MOST. Here the department is responsible for all disciplines of the 4MOST project management, and we coordinate the consortium with more than 350 members at 25 institutes worldwide project 4MOST

Last update: 6. November 2020

Projektmanagement

Project Management-2.jpg

Das Eiserne Dreieck (Iron Triangle) wird häufig zur Veranschaulichung des Problems des Projektmanagements verwendet. Von den drei dargestellten Variablen können Sie eine oder zwei, aber niemals drei optimieren.

Joar Brynnel

Abteilungsleitung
Büro: SH/205
Telefon: +49 331 7499 310
jbrynnelnothing@aip.de

Die Abteilung Projekt Management ist eine relativ junge zentrale Einrichtung am AIP, die 2018 gegründet wurde.

Unsere Abteilung bietet institutsweit Unterstützung der laufenden und geplanten technischen Projekte am AIP an. Wir schöpfen aus jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der Teleskope und Instrumente, ergänzt durch eine breite Erfahrung aus Industrie und Projektmanagement.

Wir unterstützen die Fachabteilungen mit unseren Kernkompetenzen rund um das Projektmanagement:

  • Projekt – und Konsortialmanagement
  • Controlling
  • Systems Engineering
  • Produktsicherheit
  • Instrumentenwissenschaft.

Gern beraten wir auch schon während der Antragsphase.

Unsere allgemeinen Ziele liegen in der Bereitstellung eines Rahmens für das Projekt, dem Management von Zeitplänen und Qualität, dem Verwalten und Verteilen der Mittel, der Kostenüberwachung, der Koordination der Zahlungsflüsse der Partner untereinander, der Kommunikation und dem Informationsfluss.

Wir sind das Verbindungsglied zu Kunden und zu allen Projekt-Partnern. Wir planen und verteilen die verschiedenen Arbeiten, erstellen Fortschrittsberichte, kalkulieren Risiken, nutzen und kennen die verschiedenen Kommunikationswerkzeuge für eine reibungslose und einfache Kommunikation, verwalten die Konsortialmitglieder und die Standardisierung von Software-Werkzeugen im Konsortium.

Eine weitere Schnittstelle ist unser System-Engineering. Die System-Engineering-Aktivitäten reichen von der Identifizierung der System- und Subsystemanforderungen gefolgt von einer ausführlichen Systemanalyse -über die Definition der sich daraus ergebenen Anforderungen gepaart mit einem detaillierten Systemdesign- dem Flow-Down zu den technischen Anforderungen bis hin zur Planung und Durchführung der Verifizierung von As-Built-Systemen.

Eine effiziente Ausnutzung des bewilligten Budgets mit seinen Ausgabenkategorien muss im Vorfeld richtig geplant und die konkreten Ausgaben je Finanzierungsposition im Voraus definiert werden. Daher bieten wir hier an, den Projektleiter bei der Kostenschätzung der Investmentpositionen zu unterstützen.

Konkrete Anforderungen bei Beleg- und Nachweisführung sind im laufenden Projekt zu beachten, genau wie eine nachhaltige Verwaltung und Archivierung der Dokumente und aller Projektunterlagen. Wir bieten projektbezogenes Finanzcontrolling an, das einen klaren Überblick über die geplanten und verausgabten Kosten zulässt. Dies kann dem Projektleiter bei der Abstimmung mit der Abteilung Finanzen von großem Nutzen sein, um Kosten und geplante Kosten korrekt auf die zur Verfügung stehenden Kostenstellen verbuchen zu lassen.

Der Fokus liegt derzeit auf dem Management des AIP-geführten Projekts 4MOST. Hier ist die Abteilung für alle Disziplinen des 4MOST-Projektmanagements verantwortlich und koordiniert das Konsortium mit mehr als 350 Mitgliedern an 25 Instituten weltweit. Projekt 4MOST

Letzte Aktualisierung: 6. November 2020