Karl Schwarzschild Postdoc Programme

Schwarzschild.jpg

Karl Schwarzschild, direktor of the AOP from 1908 to 1916

Credit: AIP archive

The Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) has established the Karl Schwarzschild Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme in honour of Karl Schwarzschild (1873 – 1916) former director of the Astrophysical Observatory Potsdam, and his significant contributions to the field of astrophysics, particularly in the subfields of optics, stellar physics, stellar dynamics, and general relativity.

The Karl Schwarzschild Fellowship is awarded regularly with an alternating focus on topics from extragalactic astrophysics and cosmic magnetic fields. Schwarzschild fellows are identified in a competitive international search. In order to be considered, applicants must have received their PhD within the previous five years. Schwarzschild fellows are expected to carry out an independent research program and contribute to the scientific life of the AIP, including co-supervision of students.

The Fellowship is normally awarded for three years, but may be extended up to two additional years. The fellowship provides a competitive salary based on the German public service scale (TV-L E14) and an individual research budget of €20,000 for three years. The AIP is an equal opportunity employer and considers individuals for employment according to their skills, abilities, and experience. Women are particularly encouraged to apply.

The AIP carries on the traditions of the Astrophysical Observatory Potsdam and the Berlin Observatory. The institute's broad scientific profile ranges from solar physics to cosmology, making it attractive to scientists from all over the world. Potsdam is also the home of the Albert-Einstein Institute for Gravitational Physics, the Physics & Astronomy Department of Potsdam University and several other research institutions.

Recipients

In 2019: Dr. Julián Alvarado-Gómez (Cosmic Magnetic Fields)

In 2018: Dr. Marcel Pawlowski (Extragalactic Astrophysics)

In 2016: Dr. Arianna Di Cintio (Extragalactic Astrophysics)

In 2015: Dr. Sarah Jane Schmidt (Cosmic Magnetic Fields)

In 2014: Dr. Else Starkenburg (Extragalactic Astrophysics)

In 2012: Dr. Federico Spada (Cosmic Magnetic Fields)

In 2011: Dr. Francisco Shu Kitaura Joyanes (Extragalactic Astrophysics)

Contact and postal address

Prof. Dr. Matthias Steinmetz (Secretary: Ms. Anja Cysewski, +49-331-7499-801)
Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)
An der Sternwarte 16
14482 Potsdam, Germany

Prof. Dr. Klaus G. Strassmeier (Secretary: Ms. Katrin Böhrs, +49-331-7499-223)
Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)
An der Sternwarte 16
14482 Potsdam, Germany

Last update: 23. March 2022

Karl-Schwarzschild-Postdoc-Programm

Schwarzschild.jpg

Karl Schwarzschild, Direktor des AOP von 1908 bis 1916

Bild: AIP Archiv

Zu Ehren des ehemaligen Direktors des Astrophysikalischen Observatoriums Potsdam (AOP), Karl Schwarzschild (1873-1916), hat das Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) das Karl Schwarzschild Fellowship Programm ausgerufen. Das Programm erinnert an die wissenschaftlichen Leistungen Schwarzschilds in der Astrophysik, insbesondere in den Bereichen Optik, Sternphysik, Sternaktivität und der Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie.

Das Karl Schwarzschild Fellowship Programm wird abwechselnd in den Forschungsbereichen Extragalaktische Astrophysik und Kosmische Magnetfelder ausgeschrieben. Die Fellows werden in einem internationalen Wettbewerb ernannt. Von den Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten wird erwartet, dass sie innerhalb der vergangenen fünf Jahre promoviert haben und die Forschung des AIP mit einem eigenständigen Forschungsprogramm bei gleichzeitiger Betreuung von Studierenden bereichern.

Ausgelegt auf drei Jahre kann das Programm in Sonderfällen auf fünf Jahre verlängert werden. Die Vergütung orientiert sich am Tarifvertrag der Länder (TV-L E14) und wird durch ein Forschungsbudget von 20 Tausend Euro über drei Jahre ergänzt. Das AIP ist ein Arbeitgeber, der die Chancengleichheit fördert und Bewerberinnen und Bewerber entsprechend ihrer Fähigkeiten, Fertigkeiten und Erfahrungen berücksichtigt. Frauen werden besonders ermutigt, sich zu bewerben.

Am AIP wird die Forschungstradition der Berliner Sternwarte und des Astrophysikalischen Observatoriums Potsdam (AOP) fortgesetzt. Das breite wissenschaftliche Profil des AIP reicht von der Sonnenphysik bis hin zur Kosmologie und macht es damit attraktiv für Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt. Zahlreiche weitere Forschungsinstitute finden sich ebenfalls in Potsdam; unter ihnen das Albert-Einstein Institut für Gravitationsphysik sowie das Institut für Physik und Astronomie der Universität Potsdam.

Bisherige Fellows

2019: Dr. Julián Alvarado-Gómez (Sternphysik und Exoplaneten)

2018: Dr. Marcel Pawlowski (Kosmologie und Hochenergie-Astrophysik)

2016: Dr. Arianna Di Cintio (Extragalaktische Astrophysik)

2015: Dr. Sarah Jane Schmidt (Kosmische Magnetfelder)

2014: Dr. Else Starkenburg (Extragalaktische Astrophysik)

2012: Dr. Federico Spada (Kosmische Magnetfelder)

2011: Dr. Francisco Shu Kitaura Joyanes (Extragalaktische Astrophysik)

Kontakt und Anschrift

Prof. Dr. Matthias Steinmetz (Sekretariat: Frau Anja Cysewski, 0331-7499-801)
Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)
An der Sternwarte 16
14482 Potsdam

Prof. Dr. Klaus G. Strassmeier (Sekretariat: Frau Katrin Böhrs, 0331-7499-223)
Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)
An der Sternwarte 16
14482 Potsdam

Letzte Aktualisierung: 20. September 2021