Telescope Control and Robotics

robotics-IMG_20190821_175526455_HDR.jpg

For many decades, observational astronomy meant a professional astrophysicist traveling to a proper telescope and conduction research in situ. Observing slots were typically allotted in shares of a few days. Some science questions are hampered by such a procedure. Long-term campaigns spanning month or sometimes years do not fit into this schema, even if only a few minutes of observing time is needed in any given night. Targets of opportunity are also hard to tackle. It requires the lucky turn of the card to be on spot, if something unforeseen happens. Survey observing mode, where a staff of professional observers reside at the telescope was introduced at all major facilities to mitigate these problems. Still, proposals are normally evaluated on semester basis, making year-long campaigns difficult - or at the courtesy of the TAC. Really fast follow up required, e.g., on gamma-ray bursts, remain impossible even in service mode. Overcoming such shortcomings is the domain of autonomous observing, where the AIP has a long-standing experience in.

The section Telescope Control and Robotics focuses on the development of autonomous telescopes and robotic observatories through innovative software solutions. Additionally, we provides special-purpose hardware for telescope control beyond the standard equipment.

How do you optimally fill a Knapsack?

Such seemingly simple questions may have complex answers. As long as the knapsack is small, a simple trial-and-error approach leads to the true answer, but what happens if your knapsack can hold a hundred items and you may choose among thousand? Trial and error leaves you with 1000 choose 100, nCk(1000,100) or more than (far more!) 10^100 possibilities. If you can do one trial in 1ns, the trial-and-error time exceeds the age of the universe. But there are ways to mitigate such problems...(read more)

Make observing more efficient by getting rid of the human factor

Astronomical observations can be a tedious task, especially if repetitive tasks are to be conducted over the course of an entire night. Fatigue may lead to errors, valuable observing time might be lost. Thus, autonomous observing tries to pull the human factor out of the loop; a robotic observatory has also control over the building and does not require human intervention at all. Though in cybernetics, the term robotic requires the system to show self-learning aspects, astronomers tend to name anything capable of automated observing a robotic telescope. But how can you pull the human out of the loop? Well, start with careful considering how an observation can be split into individual subtasks...(read more)

Automated data handling with data reduction pipelines

Robotic observatories are much more efficient in producing scientific valuable data than any human can ever be. Additionally, because calibration and on-object observing strategies occur template-based, the inflow of calibration data and scientific data is steady, making data reduction a task that can easily be automated - nobody can 'forget' to also take calibration data in daytime after an exhausting observing run during nighttime. Though the institute's strategy is to anchor the responsibilities for data reduction within the appropriate section holding the expertise, it is well recognized that data reduction done, e.g., in optical wavelength, where data is recorded on CCD's have some commonalities. Building blocks of data reduction can be interwoven, at the same time opening possibilities to the scientists to choose from different algorithms to conduct specific tasks. ESO offers their Reflex environment to achieve a similar goal...(read more)

Core projects:

STELLA:

When STELLA (short for STELLar Activity) was inaugurated in 2006, it was the first >1m class robotic telescope feeding a high-resolution spectrograph in the world. The combination with a second 1.2m telescope used for imaging is still rather unique and makes it apt for many different types of observing programs. Constant improvements in the acquisition and guiding, along with slew-time minimizing scheduling optimizations, allowed us to reach a shutter-open time of slightly more than 90% in the spectrograph, and more than 55% in the imaging telescope. The system uptime constantly surpasses 98%, and since 2018, more than 100 users have been granted time shares...(read more)

BMK10k:

BMK10k (Ballistische Messkammer) is a so-called Astro-Topar system with 30cm diameter and a flat field of view of 20° diameter. It is equipped with a 10kx10k detector, a spare CCD from the PEPSI project, which still sees a 7.25°x7.25° field. In 2019 it has been shipped to Cerro Aramzones (neighboring the E-ELT!) and successfully saw first light there in August the same year. The BMK10k will mainly support ESA’s PLATO mission, a planetary transit search experiment covering an utterly large 2230 square degree field-of-view. BMK10k will provide a three-year long survey with photometry of all stars in the South field down to 17-18th mag, but at a resolution 6 times better than PLATO...(read more)

Keeping the LBT on track

This section was also responsible for building six Acquisition, Guiding & Wavefront-sensing (AGW) units for the LBT, on-axis parts were built by Arcetri Observatory INAF. These units provide real-time information on the dynamic state of the atmosphere, in turn allowing the Adaptive Optics system to compensate for the telescope’s own optical defects...(read more)

A common operating software for robotic telescopes

The software operating all AIP’s robotic telescopes, named after its first use case STELLA Control System (SCS) is entirely written in Java and thus easily portable to other systems. The general software layout has always been highly modular as a consequence of the first use case -- operating a spectroscopic telescope and an imaging telescope together. We claim that it can be adapted to any robotic telescope with relative ease...(read more)

Other projects include:

  • For PEPSI, together with the high-resolution spectroscopy group we built SDI, the solar disc integration telescopes and its successor SDI-POL. Also the PFUs, the permanent fiber units are a close collabration with the  high-resolution spectroscopy group.
  • For the ARGOS Laser system at the LBT, we lead the sub-project on the tip-tilt sensors.
  • Automating the VATT for feeding light of the Vatican Advanced Technology Telescope via an optical fiber into PEPSI.
  • RoboTel: A smaller STELLA clone at the Campus Babelsberg for instrument testing and hopefully soon open to the public.
  • APT7 (Amadeus): An automated photoelectric telescope operated since 1995 at Fairborn observatory, Az, USA. Now retired.
  • ICE-T: Originally intended as a replacement for the canceled Eddington ESA-mission for Dome-C, Antarctica. Discontinued due to unclear access situation on Dome-C.
Last update: 30. August 2021

Teleskopsteuerung und Robotik

robotics-IMG_20190821_175526455_HDR.jpg

Über viele Dekaden war die beobachtende Astronomie geprägt vom Bild des engagierten Wissenschftlers*in, der/die an einem geeigneten Teleskop vor Ort Forschung betreibt. Beobachtungszeit wurde in Tagen vergeben, was nicht zu manchen Forschungsvorhaben passt: Langzeitstudien über Monate, ja Jahre, hinweg, können so kaum unterstützt werden, auch wenn in jeder Nacht nur wenige Minuten an Beobachtungszeit benötigt werden. Instantane Reaktion zu plötzlichen, neu entdeckten Phänomenen war ebenso nur durch glücklichen Zufall möglich. Survey observing, durchgeführt durch professionelles Personal vor Ort konnte die Probleme lindern, trotzdem blieben Langzeitprojekte über mehrere Vergabezyklen schwierig. Beobachtungen, die Reaktionen innerhalb von Minuten benötigen, wie z.B. die Nachbeobachtung von gamma-ray bursts blieben nach wie vor undurchführbar. Diese konnten erst durch maschinengestütztes Beobachtungen durchgeführt werden. In diesem Zweig, der robotischen Astronomie hat das AIP inzwischen eine langjährige, fast einzigartige Expertise.

Die Abteilung Teleskopkontrolle und Robotik beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung autonom beobachtender Observatorien mit Hauptstoßrichtung software. Zusätzlich wird hier spezialisierte hardware zur Teleskopkontrolle gebaut; hardware die über industrielle Produkte (weit) hinausgehen.

Wie füllt man am besten einen Rucksack?

Solche einfachen Fragen können komplexe Antworten haben. Ist der Rucksack klein, kann mittels Versuch und Irrtum schnell die richtige Antwort gefunden werden. Was aber passiert, wenn der Rucksack 100 Teile fasst und man aus 1000 auswählen kann? Aus der Kombinatorik weiss man, dass in diesem Falle 1000 über 100 Möglichkeiten, als weit über 10^100 Fälle betrachtet werden müssen. Selbst wenn man in 1ns eine Möglichkeit probieren kann, braucht man länger als das Universum existiert um alle Varianten zu testen. Aber es gibt Verfahren, mit denen Näherungslösungen gefunden werden können... (weiterlesen)

Effizienteres Beobachten durch Eleminierung des menschlichen Faktors

Astronomische Beobachtungen können anstrengend werden, insbesonderst wenn ein eintöniger Beobachtungsvorgang immer wieder wiederholt werden muss. Müdigkeit führt zu Fehlern, in weiterer Konsequenz geht wertvolle Beobachtungszeit verloren. Die Antwort bieten autonome Observatorien, wo der gesamte Ablauf robotisiert wurde und menschliche Intervention schlicht nicht mehr notrwendig, ja sogar unerwünscht ist. Auch wenn nach Definition Roboter Aspekte von selbstlernendem Verhalten zeigen müssen, nennen Astronomen völlig autharke Observatorien normalerweise robotische Sternwarten. Was macht nun eine vollautonome Beobachtung aus? Nun, zuerst wird eine astronomische Beobachtung in kleinste Teile zerteilt; neue Beobachtungen werden aus diesen zusammengesetzt...(weiterlesen)

Automatisierte Datenverarbeitung mittels Pipelines

Um die enorme Menge an wissenschaftlichen Daten, die von autonomen Teleskopen produziert werden, nutzen zu können, ist es vorteilhaft, auch die Datenreduktion zu automatisieren. Durch den hochpräzisen Ablauf, den robotische Beobachtung wie selbstverständlich bieten, sind quasi immer ausreichend Kalibrationsdaten in guter Qualität vorhanden - niemand vergisst nach einer langen Nacht noch auf die Tagkalibration. Wenngleich die Verantwortung für Datenreduktion an die Expertise der jeweiligen Abteilung gekoppelt ist, können gemeinsame Schritte in z.B. der optischen Datenverarbeitung anhand von CCDs identifiziert werden. Ähnlich der Reflex-Umbebung der ESO kann der Benutzer verschiedene Algortihmen verbinden, um für den jeweiligen speziellen Anwendungsfall optimierte Ergebnisse zu erreichen... (weiterlesen)

Grossprojekte:

STELLA:

Als STELLA (STELLar Activity) im Jahre 2006 inauguriert wurde, war es das erste >1m robotische Teleskop, das einen hochauflösenden Spektrographen füttert. Die Kombination mit einem zweiten, 1.2m abbildenden Teleskop is auch heute noch ziemlich einmalig. Stückweise Verbesserungen in der Akquirierung und der Nachführung des Teleskops brachten uns auf sensationelle shutter-open times (Anteil der wahren Belichtungszeit an der Gesamtzeit) von mehr als 90% im Spektrographen und immerhin nich mehr als 55% im photometrischen Teleskop. Die Verfügungszeit kletterte im gleichen Zeitraum auf über 98%. 2018 konnte der 100ste Benutzer mit Beobachtungszeit bedient werden...(weiterlesen)

BMK10k:

Die BMK (Ballistische Messkammer) ist ein Astrotopar System mit einer Öffnung von 30cm und einer gänzlich flachen Fokaleben, die 20° im Durchmesser aufweist. Sie wurde am AIP mit einem 10kx10k CCD ausgestattet, mit dem immerhin noch ein Gesichtsfeld von 7.25°x7.25° abgebildet werden kann. Im August 2019 erfolgte first light am finalen Beobachtungsplatz Cerro Armazones (in Sichtweite des E-ELT!), von hier wird sie ihrer Hauptaufgabe nachgehen, ESA's PLATO mission zu unterstützen. Innerhalb von drei Jahren wird die BMK10k einen photometrischen survey des PLATO deep-field South durchführen und dabei alle Sterne bis zu 17-18mag erfassen - mit einer Auflösung die 6 mal besser ist als PLATO...(weiterlesen)

Nachführungseinheiten für das LBT

In unserer Abteilung wurden auch sechs Acquisition, Guiding & Wavefront-sensing (AGW) Einheiten für das LBT gebaut (die on-axis Einheiten dazu stammen vom Arcetri-Observatorium INAF). Mit diesen Einheiten kann der Ist-Zustand der Atmosphäre erfasst werden, der zur Kompensation der optischen Fehler des Teleskops mittels adaptiver Optik unerlässlich ist... (weiterlesen)

Eine gemeinsame Software für robotische Teleskope

Alle robotischen Teleskope des AIPs werden von einer gemeinsamen Kontrollsoftware gesteuert, die nach ihrem ersten Einsatzgebiet STELLA Control System (SCS) benannt ist. Sie ist 100% Java und damit einfach auf andere Systeme zu portieren. Das grundlegende Schema ist das eines hochmodularen Systems, ebenfalls eine Konsequenz aus dem ersten Anwendungsfall - Steuerung eines spektroskopischen und eines bildgebenden Teleskops auf gemeinsamer Basis. Wir sind überzeugt, dass dieses System auf sämtliche Anwendungsfälle im Bereich robotischer Teleskope portierbar ist... (weiterlesen)

Weitere Projekte:

  • Für PEPSI, ein Projekt der Abteilung Hochauflösende Spektroskopie und Polarimetrie bauten wir SDI, das Solar Disc Integration Teleskop und die PFUs, die permanenten Fokus Einheiten.
  • Entwicklungsführerschaft im Unterprojekt tip-tilt des neuen Laser-Stern Leitsystems ARGOS für das LBT.
  • Automatisieren des VATT zur Einkopplung an PEPSI
  • RoboTel: Klein-STELLA in Babelsberg
  • APT7 (Amadeus): Ein automatisches photoelektrisches Teleskop in Fairborn observatory, Az, USA.
  • ICE-T: Ursprünglich gedacht als Ersatz für die ESA-Eddington Mission, für DomeC am antarktischen Plateu. Abgebrochen wegen unklaren Zugangsbedingungen an der Station Concordia.
Letzte Aktualisierung: 13. Juli 2021