Dr. Katja Weingrill

About me

At the AIP, I am project lead and cost centre manager of the Gaia team. Within Gaia DPAC, I am manager of the SIF CF team, responsible software developer for the background correction of the RVS spectra and member of the CU6 Configuration Control Board. My AIP section is Milky Way and Local Volume.

Milky Way and the Local Volume
Postdoctoral Researcher
Office: LH/1-17
Phone: +49 331 7499 671
kweingrillnothing@aip.de

Leibniz-Institut
für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)
An der Sternwarte 16
14482 Potsdam

Gaia

I am working for the ESA Satellite Gaia, that since 2014 constantly observes our Milky Way. Within the Gaia Data Processing and Analysis Consortiuum (DPAC) I contribute to two Coordination Units (CU), CU3 "Core Processing" and CU6 "Spectroscopic Processing".

In CU3 I am manager of the newly developed pipeline for Service Interface Function (SIF) images of dense regions in the sky, so called Crowded Fields (CF). The SIF CF team is writing software to detect new sources in the two dimensional Gaia Sky Mapper images, that Gaia has so far not been able to detect, because of the natural limitations a readout window strategy has in very dense regions. Once all images are analysed, a crossmatch is done for all Gaia scans of a certain region and new Gaia sources are defined from the single detections. For these sources the pipeline determines astrometry and photometry. The goal is to increase the completeness of the Gaia catalogues in nine selected dense regions, and also to provide the newly found sources to other downstream systems within Gaia DPAC for better scene building.

In CU6, my main role is the software development of a background correction for the Radial Velocity Spectrometer (RVS). This background correction consists of two parts: The modelling of the light distribution of unobserved point sources on the detector, if these contaminate observed source spectra, and the measuring of the diffuse background light in empty parts of the readout windows, that due to the straylight that during commissioning turned out to be 40 times as intensive as expected is crutial to the RVS data reduction. I am member of the CU6 Configuration Control Board (CCB).

Mini CV

I was born in Bremerhaven, studied both Mathematics and Physics at the Georg-August University in Göttingen and concluding 1999 with a Masters degree.

With a scholarship I finished my PhD thesis on "structure and dynamics of solar small scale magnetic fields" in 2003. For roughly 10 years I worked as a solar physicist at the Göttingen University and Arcetri Florence. My main topics were height dependency and fractal dimensions of small scale structures on the sun. I developed IDL software applications for automated pattern recognition, the analysis of Hausdorff dimensions and improved the speckle image reconstruction code, that treats 5-dimensional data (space, time, wavelength and polarimetry, i.e. time series of two dimensional spectral line scan images for two polarimetric states).

At the AIP, I contributed to the cryo test software of NIRSpec / James Webb Space Telescope (JWST). I worked as manager of the PEPSI group, that built the Potsdam Echelle Polarimetric and Spectroscopic Instrument for the LBT, and for innoFSPEC, a centre forinnovational competence for fibre spectroscopy and sensing. In 2010 I came back to software writing, when I joined Gaia DPAC. Since then I'm enthusiastic about preparing the next spectacular data release of Gaia.

Publications

Latest refereed publications, retrieved from NASA ADS:

Seabroke, G. M., ... Janßen, K., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 653, A160; published September 2021
Participating AIP sections and groups: Milky Way and the Local Volume
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 650, C3; published June 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A6; published May 2021
Lindegren, L., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Janßen, K., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A2; published May 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A1; published May 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A9; published May 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A8; published May 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Janßen, K., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A7; published May 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Enke, H., ... Gerssen, J., ... Janßen, K., ... Klar, J., ... Matijevič, G., ..., 2020
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 642, C1; published October 2020
Participating AIP sections and groups: Supercomputing and E-Science, Milky Way and the Local Volume
Gaia Collaboration, ... Enke, H., ... Gerssen, J., ... Janßen, K., ... Klar, J., ... Matijevič, G., ..., 2020
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 637, C3; published May 2020
Participating AIP sections and groups: Supercomputing and E-Science, Milky Way and the Local Volume

Dr. Katja Weingrill

Über mich

Ich bin Projektleiterin und Kostenstellenverantwortliche des Gaia teams am AIP. Im Gaia DPAC bin ich Managerin der SIF CF Arbeitsgruppe, verantwortlicher Software Entwickler für die Hintergrundkorrektur der RVS Spektren und Mitglied des CU6 Configuration Control Boards. Am AIP arbeite ich als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Bereich Milky Way and Local Volume.

Büro: LH/1-17
Telefon: +49 331 7499 671
kweingrillnothing@aip.de

Leibniz-Institut
für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)
An der Sternwarte 16
14482 Potsdam

Gaia

Ich arbeite für den ESA Satelliten Gaia, der seit 2014 ununterbrochen unsere Milchstraße beobachtet. Innerhalb des Gaia Data Processing and Analysis Consortiums (DPAC) beteilige ich mich an zwei Coordination Units, CU3 "Core Processing" und CU6 "Spectroscopic Processing".

In der CU3 bin ich Managerin des neu eingerichteten Software Teams für die Auswertung der Service Interface Function (SIF) Bilder dichter Himmelsregionen, sogenannter Crowded Fields (CF). Das SIF CF Team schreibt eine Software, die neue Sterne in den zweidimensionalen Bildern des Gaia Sky Mappers entdeckt, die Gaia bisher durch die natürlichen Limitationen einer Auslesefenster-Strategie in diesen sehr dichten Regionen nicht finden konnte. Nach der Detektion der neuen Lichtquellen werden die Daten aller Gaia Scans der betroffenen Region im Crossmatch zusammengeführt und aus den diversen Einzelbeobachtungen neue Sterne definiert. Für diese Sterne werden im Anschluss Astrometrie und Photometrie bestimmt. Das Ziel der SIF CF Auswertung ist es, die Vollständigkeit des Gaia Katalogs in diesen Regionen zu verbessern, sowie die neuen Sterne anderen DPAC Systemen zur Scene Konstruktion zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Meine Hauptaufgabe in der CU6 ist die Entwicklung von Software für die Hintergrundkorrektur der Spektren des Radial Velocity Spectrometer (RVS). Diese Hintergrundkorretkur besteht aus zwei Teilen: Die Modellrechnung der Lichtverteilung nicht ausgelesener Punktlichtquellen auf dem Detektor, wenn diese die ausgelesenen Sternspektren kontaminieren, sowie die Messung und Korrektur des diffusen Hintergrundlichtes in leeren Auslesefensterbereichen, die durch das im Commissioning festgestellte Streulicht, das 40x höher als erwartet ausfällt, essentiell für die Auswertung der RVS Spektren ist. Zudem bin ich Mitglied im CU6 Configuration Control Board (CCB).

Mini CV

Ich bin in Bremerhaven geboren, habe an der Georg-August Universität in Göttingen sowohl Mathematik als auch Physik studiert, und 1999 mein Studium mit dem ersten Staatsexamen abgeschlossen.

Mit einem Stipendiums des Graduiertenkollegs für "Strömungsinstabilität und Turbulenz" konnte ich 2003 mein Doktorat in der Sonnenphysik zur "Struktur und Dynamik kleinskaliger Magnetfelder auf der Sonne" erfolgreich abschliessen. In gut 10 Jahren arbeitete ich in der Sonnenphysik an der Universität Göttingen und Arcetri Florenz. Meine Hauptthemen waren die Höhenstruktur und fraktale Dimension kleinskaliger Strukturen sowie Magnetfelder der Sonne. Ich entwickelte Software Lösungen für die Sonnenphysik, wie automatisierte Mustererkenung, die Analyse der Hausdorff Dimensionen und ich verbesserte den Speckle Bildrekonstruktionscode für 5-dimensionale Daten (Raum, Zeit, Wellenlänge und Polarimetrie, d.h. Zeitserien von zweidimensionalen Spektrallinien-Scan Bildern zweier Polarisationsrichtungen).

Am AIP schrieb ich eine Software für die Cryo-Tests von NIRSpec / James Webb Space Teleskop (JWST). Ich arbeitete als Managerin der PEPSI Gruppe, die das Potsdamer Echelle Polarimetric and Spectroscopic Instrument für das LBT baute, und für innoFSPEC, einem Zentrum für Innovationskompetenz für Faserspektroskopie und Sensorik. Im Jahr 2010 kehrte ich zur Softwareentwicklung zurück und wurde Teil des Gaia DPAC Teams. Seitdem arbeite ich hoch motiviert an der Vorbereitung der nächsten, spektakulären Gaia Datenveröffentlichung.

Publikationen

Aktuelle begutachtete Publikationen, von NASA ADS:

Seabroke, G. M., ... Janßen, K., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 653, A160; veröffentlicht September 2021
Beteiligte Abteilungen und Gruppen des AIP: Milchstraße und die lokale Umgebung
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 650, C3; veröffentlicht Juni 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A6; veröffentlicht Mai 2021
Lindegren, L., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Janßen, K., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A2; veröffentlicht Mai 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A1; veröffentlicht Mai 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A9; veröffentlicht Mai 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Janßen, K., ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A8; veröffentlicht Mai 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Cioni, M.-R. L., ... Janßen, K., ... Enke, H., ... Mints, A., ..., 2021
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 649, A7; veröffentlicht Mai 2021
Gaia Collaboration, ... Enke, H., ... Gerssen, J., ... Janßen, K., ... Klar, J., ... Matijevič, G., ..., 2020
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 642, C1; veröffentlicht Oktober 2020
Beteiligte Abteilungen und Gruppen des AIP: Supercomputing und E-Science, Milchstraße und die lokale Umgebung
Gaia Collaboration, ... Enke, H., ... Gerssen, J., ... Janßen, K., ... Klar, J., ... Matijevič, G., ..., 2020
Astronomy and Astrophysics, 637, C3; veröffentlicht Mai 2020
Beteiligte Abteilungen und Gruppen des AIP: Supercomputing und E-Science, Milchstraße und die lokale Umgebung