Daiquiri

Python basiertes Framework für Publikation von Forschungsdatenbanken
Daiquiri logo Daiquiri logo
Daiquiri instances Daiquiri instances

Public research data archives proudly powered by Daiquiri

Credit: None

Home page https://django-daiquiri.github.io

GitHub organization https://github.com/django-daiquiri

PyPI releases https://pypi.org/project/django-daiquiri

Today, the publication of research data plays an important role in astronomy and astrophysics. Dedicated surveys like RAVE or massive simulations like Millennium and MultiDark from the start plan to release their data for the community. But also individual scientific projects strive to publish their data since it is regarded as a key requirement by the funding agencies. Web sites are used as entry point to the publication of the data. Most of the web sites are tailor made for the particular case and are therefore not easily transferable to future projects.

At AIP we gained experience with both the maintenance and the development of such applications. It became, however, apparent that the amount and the complexity of the applications constitutes a major challenge for maintenance expenses and scalability. In order to address these issues, we developed the Daiquiri framework, which is particularly designed to allow for different highly customizable web applications based on a common easily maintainable code base.

Since 2013, Daiquiri has enabled researchers from all over the world to access data from the RAVE survey, the APPLAUSE database or the CosmoSim - the cosmological simulations database. Daiquiri features built-in API using Virtual Observatory standards. A OAI-PMH interface is available as well for registering the data to the Virtual Observatory as for management of DOI metadata.

Involved AIP sections and groups:

Supercomputing and E-Science
Last update: 19. February 2021

Daiquiri

A Python framework for the publication of scientific databases
Daiquiri Logo Daiquiri Logo
Daiquiri Instanzen Daiquiri Instanzen

Öffentliche Forschungsdaten-Archive, die auf Daiquiri Framework aufgebaut sind.

Bild: None

Home page https://django-daiquiri.github.io

GitHub Organisation https://github.com/django-daiquiri

PyPI releases https://pypi.org/project/django-daiquiri

Die Veröffentlichung von Forschungsdaten spielen eine wichtige Rolle in Astronomy und Astrophysik. Dedizierte Himmelsdurchmusterungen wie RAVE oder umfangreiche Simulationen wie Millenium und MultiDark planen vom Anfang an, ihre Daten für die wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft zu veröffentlichen. Aber auch einzelne wissenschaftliche Projekte streben danach, ihre Daten der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung zustellen, da es mittlerweile eine wichtige Anforderung der Förderorganisationen ist. Als Einstiegspunkt für die Veröffentlichung der Daten werden Webseiten genutzt. Die meisten Webseiten sind individuell auf einen Einzelfall zugeschnitten und daher nicht ohne weiteres auf zukünftige Projekte übertragbar.

Am AIP haben wir Erfahrungen sowohl mit dem Betrieb als auch mit der Entwicklung socher Anwendungen gesammelt. Es zeigte sich jedoch, dass die Menge und die Komplexität der Anwendungen eine große Herausforderung für den Wartungsaufwand und die Skalierbarkeit darstellen. Zur Lösung dieser Probleme entwickelten wir das Daiquiri-Framework, das speziell darauf ausgelegt ist, verschiedene hochgradig anpassbare Webanwendungen auf Basis einer gemeinsamen, leicht wartbaren Codebases zu ermöglichen.

Seit 2013 ermöglicht das Framework Daiquiri Forschern aus aller Welt den Zugriff auf Daten aus dem RAVE Survey, der APPLAUSE Datenbank oder CosmoSim - der Datenbank für kosmologische Simulationen. Daiquiri bietet Schnittstellen, die auf den Virtual Observatory Standards beruhen. Eine OAI-PMH Schnittstelle wird sowohl für die Registrierung der Daten in VO als auch für das Management von DOI genutzt.

Beteiligte Abteilungen und Gruppen des AIP:

Supercomputing und E-Science
Letzte Aktualisierung: 19. Februar 2021