Wempe Award for Thomas R. Ayres

4 October 2012. The 2012 Johann Wempe Award is awarded to Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Ayres from the Center for Astrophysics and Space Astronomy of the University of Colorado, Boulder, U.S.A. for his contributions to ultraviolet stellar spectroscopy and his detection of COmospheres.
Wempe Award for Thomas R. Ayres

Thomas R. Ayres

Prof. Dr. Klaus Werner from the Institute for Astrophysics at the Universtity of Tübingen and one of the leading experts in the field of UV spectroscopy will give a lecture about "Ultraviolet Astronomy: from Sounding Rockets to the Hubble Space Telescope and Beyond”.

In honour of Prof. Dr. Johann Wempe (1906 - 1980), the last director of the former Astrophysical Observatory of Potsdam (AOP), the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) grants the Johann Wempe Award to an outstanding scientist annually. The award is financed from funds left in the will of Johann Wempe. It consists of a stipend of EUR 2500 per month to facilitate a research visit of up to six months at the AIP. The recipient may either be a promising young scientist who has already made notable achievements, or a senior scientist in recognition of his or her life's work. It is expected that the recipient enriches the scientific life of the institute through a series of lectures on their area of expertise. The Johann Wempe Prize was first awarded in 2000.


Science contact: Prof. Dr. Klaus G. Strassmeier, +49 331-7499 223, kstrassmeier@aip.de,

Press contact: Kerstin Mork, +49 331-7499 469, presse@aip.de


Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam

The key areas of research at the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics (AIP) are cosmic magnetic fields and extragalactic astrophysics. A considerable part of the Institute's efforts aim at the development of research technology in the fields of spectroscopy, robotic telescopes, and e-science. The AIP is the successor of the Berlin Observatory founded in 1700 and of the Astrophysical Observatory of Potsdam founded in 1874. The latter was the world's first observatory to emphasize explicitly the research area of astrophysics. The AIP has been a member of the Leibniz Association since 1992.