MOSAIC

A Multi-Object Spectrograph for the ELT
MOSAIC Logo MOSAIC Logo (grey background)
3D model of MOSAIC, instrument of the Extremely Large Telescope 3D model of MOSAIC, instrument of the Extremely Large Telescope

3D model of MOSAIC, a planned instrument for the Extremely Large Telescope of ESO.

Credit: ESO

The development of the European Extremely Large Telescope (ELT) with a 39m-size primary mirror is the major priority for the European ground-based astronomical infrastructure in the coming years. AIP is a partner in the development of a Multi-Object Spectrograph (MOSAIC) for this telescope.

MOSAIC combines both imaging and multi-object spectroscopy to enable the observation of a large number of extended objects. The science cases range from the most distant galaxies, galaxy evolution, to resolved stellar populations and planetary formation studies.

Given AIP's experience and interest, we participate in a work-package on the fibre-link between telescope focal plane to the spectrograph systems. A further area of engagement is regarding the data reduction software.

The MOSAIC concept is proposed by a European-wide consortium, led by the Observatoire de Paris (GEPI). The phase-A studies started in spring 2016. AIP's contributions are supported by a grant from the BMBF-Verbundforschung.

MOSAIC publication: Kelz et al. 2015

MOSAIC white paper: Evans et al. 2015

MOSAIC on ESO's ELT website: https://elt.eso.org/instrument/MOSAIC/

Funding: BMBF

Project website: http://www.mosaic-elt.eu/

Involved AIP sections and groups:

3D and Multi Object Spectroscopy, Project Management
Last update: 17. March 2021

MOSAIC

Ein Multi-Objekt-Spektrograph für das ELT
MOSAIC Logo MOSAIC Logo (grey background)
3D model of MOSAIC, instrument of the Extremely Large Telescope 3D model of MOSAIC, instrument of the Extremely Large Telescope

3D-Modell von MOSAIC, einem geplanten Instrument für das Extremely Large Telescope der ESO.

Bild: ESO

Der Bau des Europäischen Extremely Large Telescope (ELT) mit einem 39 Meter großen Hauptspiegel ist das herausragende Infrastruktur-Projekt der europäischen bodengebundenen Astronomie in den nächsten Jahren. Das AIP beteiligt sich an der Entwicklung des Multi-Objekt-Spektrographen (MOSAIC) für dieses Teleskop.

MOSAIC kombiniert bildgebende mit Multi-Objekt Spektroskopie, um eine große Anzahl von ausgedehnten Objekten analysieren zu können. Die wissenschaftlichen Ziele reichen von der Beobachtung der entferntesten Galaxien, über Galaxienentwicklung bis hin zu aufgelösten Sternenpopulationen und Entstehung von Planetensystemen.

Aufgrund seiner Erfahrungen beteiligt sich das AIP an zwei Arbeitspaketen für MOSAIC, zum einen dem Glasfaser-System zwischen Teleskop und den Spektrographen, zum anderen in der Entwicklung der Datenreduktionssoftware.

Das MOSAIC Projekt wird von einem europäischen Konsortium, unter Leitung des Observatoire de Paris (GEPI), entwickelt. Dessen Konzept-Studie begann im Frühjahr 2016. Die Beiträge des AIP werden durch die BMBF-Verbundforschung gefördert.

MOSAIC Publikation: Kelz et al. 2015

MOSAIC White-Paper: Evans et al. 2015

MOSAIC auf der ELT-Webseite der ESO:: https://elt.eso.org/instrument/MOSAIC/

Förderung: BMBF

Projektwebseite: http://www.mosaic-elt.eu/

Beteiligte Abteilungen und Gruppen des AIP:

3D- und Multi-Objekt-Spektroskopie, Projektmanagement
Letzte Aktualisierung: 17. März 2021