Cosmic Choreographies

Satellite Galaxy Phase Space Correlations

The research project "Cosmic Coreographies" (COSMICOR), investigates the distribution and motion of satellite dwarf galaxies around more massive hosts, both within and beyond the Local Group. Special emphasis is put on comparisons to cosmological expectations, based on numerical simulations of structure formation.

The group is lead by Dr. Marcel S. Pawlowski, and consists of several team members (see below). The 5-year program is funded as a Leibniz Junior Research Group via the Leibniz Competition since 2021. Further support is provided via a Klaus Tschira Boost Fund by the German Scholars Organization.

Background: Planes of Satellite Galaxies and Other Phase-Space Correlations

The existence of planes of satellite galaxies (see figures below) is one of the most serious unsolved problems of near-field cosmology. We know that the three closest major galaxies in the nearby Universe, including our Milky Way (MW) host such planes: highly flattened structures of satellite galaxies showing signs of coherent rotation, as if their “orbital dance” were performing a cosmic choreography. Similarly extreme arrangements appear to be exceedingly rare in cosmological simulations based on the cold dark matter (CDM) model, giving rise to the Planes of Satellite Galaxies Problem.

Vast Polar Structure of the Milky Way.

The "Vast Polar Structure", the plane of satellites surrounding the Milky Way.

Great Plane of Andromeda

The great plane of satellite galaxies surrounding the Andromeda Galaxy M31.

The Centaurus A Satellite Plane

The plane of satellite galaxies surrounding the massive elliptical galaxy Centaurus A.

With CDM, we have a successful model that explains many large-scale features of the Universe, but we can not fully commit to it until we address this problem. However, our current understanding of satellite galaxy planes is limited because the field has thus far operated in a discovery phase. Now, better numerical models, an unprecedented influx of data on the MW satellites, and upcoming observational facilities provide an opportunity to switch to a different mode: a comprehensive analysis of planes and related phase-space correlations and their tension with the CDM model.

The COSMICOR group's research project is uniquely positioned to address this challenge. Over the next years, we will:

Overview of the Cosmic Choreographies Research Project

Overview of the "Cosmic Choreographies" research project.

  1. identify and characterize the dynamical evolution of satellite phase-space correlations in cosmological simulations, especially constrained ones to for the first time study simulated systems whose environment closely matches that of the nearby Universe;
  2. expand observational studies of satellite systems to larger samples and develop novel metrics of phase-space correlations to address the unique challenges of targeting distant hosts; and
  3. develop a comprehensive understanding of satellite group infall among MW satellites, one of the most promising solutions to the Planes of Satellite Galaxies Problem.

The Team

Current and upcoming members

  • Dr. Marcel S. Pawlowski (Group leader)
  • Dr. Salvatore Taibi (postdoc)
  • Dr. Pengfei Li (Humboldt Fellow, from Winter 2021/22)
  • Jamie Kanehisa (PhD Student, from Fall 2021)
  • Pouria Adel (Bachelor Student)

Past members

  • Jamie Kanehisa (Master student)
Last update: 20. September 2021

Kosmische Choreographien

Satellite Galaxy Phase Space Correlations

Das Forschungsprojekt "Cosmic Coreographies", kurz COSMICOR, untersucht die Verteilung und Bewegung von Satelliten-Zwerggalaxien um massereichere Galaxien, sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb der Lokalen Gruppe. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf dem Vergleich mit kosmologischen Erwartungen, die auf numerischen Simulationen der Strukturbildung beruhen.

Die Gruppe wird von Dr. Marcel S. Pawlowski geleitet und besteht aus mehreren Teammitgliedern (siehe unten). Das 5-Jahres-Programm wird seit 2021 als Leibniz-Nachwuchsgruppe im Rahmen des Leibniz-Wettbewerbs gefördert. Darüber hinaus werden wir über einen Klaus Tschira Boost Fund der German Scholars Organization unterstützt.

Hintergrund: Satellitengalaxien-Ebenen und andere Phasenraumkorrelationen

Die Existenz von Satellitengalaxien-Ebenen (siehe Abbildungen unten) ist eines der größten ungelösten Probleme der Nahfeldkosmologie. Wir wissen, dass die nächstgelegenen großen Galaxien im nahen Universum, einschließlich unserer Milchstraße (MW), solche Strukturen beherbergen: stark abgeflachte Verteilungen von Satellitengalaxien, die Anzeichen einer kohärenten Rotation zeigen, als ob ihr "orbitaler Tanz" eine kosmische Choreographie aufführen würde. Ähnlich extreme Anordnungen scheinen in kosmologischen Simulationen, die auf dem Modell der kalten dunklen Materie (Cold Dark Matter, CDM) basieren, äußerst selten zu sein. Diese Diskrepanz wird das Problem der Ebenen von Satellitengalaxien genannt.

Vast Polar Structure of the Milky Way.

Die "Vast Polar Structure", die Satellitenebene um die Milchstraße.

Great Plane of Andromeda

The great plane of satellite galaxies surrounding the Andromeda Galaxy M31.

The Centaurus A Satellite Plane

The plane of satellite galaxies surrounding the massive elliptical galaxy Centaurus A.

Mit dem CDM-Modell haben wir eine erfolgreiche Theorie, die viele großräumige Merkmale des Universums erklärt. Allerdings ist diese nicht vollständig überzeugend bis wir das Satellitengalaxien-Ebenen Problem gelöst haben. Unser derzeitiges Verständnis der Ebenen von Satellitengalaxien ist jedoch begrenzt, da sich das Forschungsfeld bisher noch in einer Entdeckungsphase befand. Bessere numerische Modelle, ein noch nie dagewesener Zustrom von Daten über die MW-Satelliten und neue Beobachtungseinrichtungen bieten nun die Gelegenheit, in einen anderen Modus zu wechseln: eine umfassende Analyse der Ebenen und der damit verbundenen Phasen-Raum-Korrelationen und ihrer Spannung zum CDM-Modell.

Das Forschungsprojekt der COSMICOR-Gruppe ist einzigartig positioniert, um diese Herausforderung anzugehen. In den nächsten Jahren werden wir:

Overview of the Cosmic Choreographies Research Project

Überblick des Forschungsprojekts "Cosmic Choreographies"

  1. die dynamische Entwicklung von Satelliten-Phasen-Raum-Korrelationen in kosmologischen Simulationen identifizieren und charakterisieren, insbesondere in solchen simulierten Systemen, deren Umgebung der des nahen Universums sehr nahe kommt;
  2. Beobachtungsstudien von Satellitensystemen auf größere Stichproben ausweiten, und neuartiger Metriken von Phasen-Raum-Korrelationen entwickeln um die Herausforderungen beim Beobachten und Interpretieren weiter entfernter Galaxiensysteme zu bewältigen; und
  3. ein umfassenden Verständnisses des Infalls von Satellitengruppen unter den MW-Satelliten entwickeln, eine der vielversprechendsten Lösungen für das Problem der Ebenen von Satellitengalaxien darstellen.

Das Team

Aktuelle und baldige Mitglieder

Ehemalige Mitglieder

  • Jamie Kanehisa (Master Student)
  • Pouria Adel (Bachelor Student)
Letzte Aktualisierung: 26. April 2022